Iexplorer - CPU resources

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by ljblee, Dec 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ljblee

    ljblee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    I am posting this question in this forum because I have been using NOD32 now for some time and everything on my computer has been fine.

    Over the last few weeks I have noticed that the CPU usage has quite often reached 90+ %. When I check this it is Iexplorer (one or more instances) that are taking up more or less all of the CPU resources. I have not upgraded Iexplorer recently so am somewhat at a loss to explain why it is suddenly hogging all the resources. No new hardware has been added.

    If I stop the process from task manager the load quickly drops back down to zero. problem is this is happening every hour or so.

    At times like this I immediately think about viruses/trojans and wonder if they might be behind the problem in some way. That is why I thought I would start by posting here to see if anyone else has had similar problem.

    If anyone has any thoughts/ideas of what might have caused this problem to start I would appreciate your views.
     
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Assuming you would practice safe hex during that "hour or so"....I would suggest temporarily disabling IMON to see if that has a positive effect. If so....we could then proceed in the direction of finding the Iexplorer\IMON conflict.

    Bubba
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    A friend of mine began experiencing the same issue with svchost.exe. After 3 hours of scratching my head I found out it was happening due to a bug in Windows updater that was acknowledged by MS. Unfortunately, there was only a preliminary fix that didn't work for me. After turning off automatic Windows update, the CPU utilization went back to normal.
     
  4. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Was it the same problem described here, Marcos?
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=887930&postcount=20
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=887930&postcount=21
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Yep, it's exactly that bug :) Unfortunately, my friend had a Slovak version of WinXP installed so the patch I found somewhere on the web didn't work for him.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.