IE7 update - fix for Phishing filter

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Dec 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,773
    Location:
    Texas
    Info

    .....
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks Ronjor:thumb:
    i will install it when i get home to fix that bug.
    lodore
     
  3. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    What actually is...'The performance issue affecting the Phishing Filter'.....does the Link say what it is before it D/Ls??....


    Cochise.
     
  4. HelpFromFrance

    HelpFromFrance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    283
    I went to the MS site and checked it out and clicked on download, it said of course that it had to "validate" windows, this is what always happens, it normally goes on from there to validate and it downloads. Not this time, it tells me I have to install their "validation tool", which I have already installed and which validates each time I update Windows. Why another "validation" tool and why continually have to install, reninstall this validation tool? I don't have any problem with MS wanting to verify that I have a genuine Windows, but I don't understand why we must install this tool several times, any ideas?

    For the moment I have not downloaded it until I know more about all of this.

    Thanks,
    HelpFromFrance
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,773
    Location:
    Texas
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/928089
     
  6. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Hi Ron...I read that bit......what I mean is, it's all a bit vague isn't it.....there's no mention of why it slows up, just that it does??....

    Glad I haven't ventured into the murky realms of '7' yet....they never ever got '6' right so what are the chances with '7'...:D


    Must say, I agree with you HelpFromFrance with this Validation stuff....what IS their problem....surely once is enough.....as for wanting to install the Tool on your OS everytime!!??.....What's that all about?.....Could it be that with all their money they may be getting a Persecution Complex...:D :D

    Cochise.
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,773
    Location:
    Texas
    We probably wouldn't understand the reason if they told us. :D
    I don't really know. I have the WGA validation tool on my computer and am never questioned when I download updates. It may just be an updated version that needs to be installed.

    I suppose since Microsoft is in the business of commercial operating systems, they would like to be paid for their efforts. :D
     
  8. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    From
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/928089

    SYMPTOMS
    When you use Windows Internet Explorer 7 to visit a Web page, the computer may respond very slowly as the Phishing Filter evaluates Web page contents.

    CAUSE
    This problem occurs when one or more of the following conditions are true:
    • The Web page contains many frames.
    • You browse many frames in a short time.

    Internet Explorer 7 evaluates the whole Web page when you browse a frame. Therefore, CPU usage may be very high.







    So far as I'm concerned this is not a security issue. This update is only to be applied if you have this symptom. And at that it'd be a performance issue. It's one of those times. "If it ain't broke don't fix it."
     
  9. HelpFromFrance

    HelpFromFrance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    283
    ronjor,

    I agree, they should be paid for the products they make. I am sure it cost them a ton to do the research and even more than that when people are using pirated versions of their programs. That is not my question. It seems like every other update or so, we must reinstall this validation tool. I have done it and will do it because my versions are genuine and legal. It just makes me wonder why it has to be done over and over. I just updated Tuesday and did not have to reinstall the validation tool. Then with this update, bang it comes up again. Just curious.

    Now on to another question. I searched the French MS site and could not find this update anywhere. Do you think this could only be for English versions? I would hate to mess things up by installing it on my French version if it is not meant to be for that.

    Thanks again,
    HelpFromFrance
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,773
    Location:
    Texas
    Good question. I notice someone has asked the same question at the original link. Perhaps there will be a reponse there.
     
  11. HelpFromFrance

    HelpFromFrance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    283
    ronjor,

    Took the plunge and installed the update. Seems to have worked fine. I seem to see a difference in certain pages that load faster now than beofre. Thanks for the headsup.

    Have a nice day,
    HelpFromFrance
     
  12. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,773
    Location:
    Texas
    Good to hear it worked for you. :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.