IE7 "memory protection" question

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by acr1965, May 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    In IE7, under tools--> internet options--> advanced--> scroll nearly to the bottom of advanced and I see just two options above "phishing filter" an option to checkmark which says "Enable memory protection to help mitigate online attacks." But it has been greyed out and cannot be checkmarked. Any particular reason why?

    Is this similar to DEP w/ IE7 protected?

    Thanks
     
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    I don't even see that option in mine. Is that maybe something new in SP3? I'm still on SP2 here....
     
  3. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    More like something new in Vista, I think. I have machines running SP2 and SP3 and am not seeing that option either.

    Regardless, I seem to recall something about that option being greyed out (Vista) if you don't use "run as administrator" (e.g., right-click on IE in All Programs and select "Run as administrator").
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    some screen shots from Vista
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    IF you disable The (UAC)which also turns off protection mode then you can check the box memory.No clue Why though.
     
  6. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Yes Vista.

    I followed the post by prius04 and right clicked IE7 under all programs and then run as administrator. The unchecked "memory protection" was then checked when I looked. I then started IE7 from the task bar (as opposed to the start menu under all programs and without right clicking and selecting "run as administrator"). The memory protection was still checked. Not sure why this is not checked by default. But thanks for the heads up Prius04.
     
  7. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,508
    Location:
    Slovakia
    It is a software DEP, but DEP is known to cause compatibility problems, so it is unchecked by default to prevent issues with plugins and etc.
    In Vista, IE 32-bit has it disabled by default, but IE 64-bit does not have this option, because it takes advantage of hardware DEP instead.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.