IE Protected Mode Issue

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by firzen771, Mar 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    alright so i havent used IE for a while but i opened up IE 7 and it said in the corner, Protected Mode OFF, yet when i go to settings it says that im on the security level that has it enabled, is this just a GUI bug, or is protected mode actually off? anyone experienced this before? o_O
     
  2. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    541
    Location:
    Sonoran Desert
  3. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,789
    Location:
    USA
    If it says it's off believe it. Protected mode requires that UAC be enabled. By chance did you disable UAC?
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    when i turn UAC off i can see the protected mode off too for the browser:)
     
  5. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ah yep, thats it, i do have UAC off :doubt: thx for the help everyone. :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.