IE Protected Mode Issue

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by firzen771, Mar 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    alright so i havent used IE for a while but i opened up IE 7 and it said in the corner, Protected Mode OFF, yet when i go to settings it says that im on the security level that has it enabled, is this just a GUI bug, or is protected mode actually off? anyone experienced this before? o_O
     
  2. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    Arizona
  3. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    If it says it's off believe it. Protected mode requires that UAC be enabled. By chance did you disable UAC?
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    when i turn UAC off i can see the protected mode off too for the browser:)
     
  5. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ah yep, thats it, i do have UAC off :doubt: thx for the help everyone. :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.