IE 8 doesn't want to boxed in...

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by HAN, May 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Demoing Sandboxie @ work. Works great with Firefox but IE 8 locks up and won't even bring up the home page. Also tried running IE 8 in Avast 5's sandbox and it freezes on IE 8 too (but is fine on FF again.) Any ideas/thoughts?
     
  2. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Check IE's addons, or whatever they call it - i honestly don't remember.
    To troubleshoot, try disabling some or all, and see if it still locks up.
     
  3. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you. I should have thought of that but didn't! :(

    Anyway, it appears to be the 'Java Plug-in 2 SSV Helper'. If I disable it, all seems fine. I tried a page that had basic Java on it and it still worked.

    What does this plug-in actually do?
     
  4. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    No idea Han :D
    But a quick google renders all kinds of problems related to that thing. I'll try to figure out what it is.
     
  5. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Man it's hard to find it even on Sun, i mean Oracle (!)

    This link though has an explanation:
    http://www.walkernews.net/2009/11/09/disable-java-plug-in-that-causes-ie-8-tab-slow-opening-problem/
    Hope this helps.
     
  6. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Known issue w/ Avast sandbox so far... Honestly, you'd be better off w/ SBIE free until the Avast sandbox grows a bit more mature.
     
  7. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    The problem is that SBIE acted the same as Avast's sandbox when the Java plug-in was enabled.

    Pedro: Thanks for the info. I only run the latest version of Java on my PCs and thankfully, recent versions of Java uninstall their predecessors. Oddly enough, at home this is not an issue. The Java plug-in runs there without issue. So somehow, it's PC related too??
     
  8. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    618
    I can't speak for SBIE but in case of avast, the JVM conflict in IE7/8 will be solved in the next avast program update.

    Thanks
    Vlk
     
  9. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    No idea. Perhaps different Windows versions (are they ?) 32/64 bit? Software conflict? Are you using Avast and SBIE in both computers?
     
  10. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the note vlk! Looking forward to it!

    Pedro: No, IMO, no significant difference. Avast @ work is Pro and here @ home it's the free version (which does not offer the sandbox.) But thanks to your detective work, I don't consider this a major deal. I've turned off the Java plug-in for good...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.