IdVault password login software

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by notsupplied_31, Apr 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. notsupplied_31

    notsupplied_31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    I learned about the IdVault program and installed it from http://www.idvault.com but so far it does not impress me very much. It does not seem to work on many sites and on the ones it does work with I don't necessarily want it to save my login information. I will keep experimenting with it for a week or two. I am using the free version. There is no 64-bit Windows version AFAIK yet. I am using Windows XP Home SP3.
     
  2. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Well, I installed it by mistake with some other application (forgot to uncheck the box). It uses .NET and the resource usage is absolutely obnoxious, simply not acceptable at all. It was like 80 megs of RAM plus quite a bit of CPU hit. Good idea, horrible implementation. Uninstalled after 15 minutes test. And yeah, the "trying to be smart" aspect was also annoying like hell.
    :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd:
     
  3. LockBox

    LockBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,275
    Location:
    Here, There and Everywhere
    I have tried so many others and I still don't think you can beat RoboForm Pro. It's the one piece of software that I never minded paying for. It's worth twice as much as they ask. It is free if you use 10 or fewer passwords.

    However, Roboform is about to get some real competition from 1Password. I saw on Lifehacker that 1Password, a hugely popular program for the Mac is coming to Windows. It's very similar to RoboForm and quite honestly, maybe a little slicker.
     
  4. notsupplied_31

    notsupplied_31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    The free edition of IdVault only allows four distinct Ids to be saved plus one credit card number. I guess you get what you pay for in security software.:) I could not get it to work with Adobe sites.
     
  5. onlineshopper

    onlineshopper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    ID Vault is actually reliable and is able to support complicated sites that other password managers such as RoboForms do not support. Try ING, for example, which has a random keyboard. My Bank of America account works like a charm and I do not have to enter any information after the first setup.

    The old hardware version was not the best but they now have a portable version that you can put on any USB device.

    I do not know if you are aware but there are some other security features built into the product such as anti-phishing and anti-pharming which anti virus software does not catch.

    As far as the .NET piece, yes, you're right. You need to pull it down at install time only if you happen to have XP. But the 80MB of RAM is a non-issue in todays computers. Open the Windows task manager and you will see many other applications with 100MB+ of memory -- even Windows search indexer.

    Which sites are you having issues with?
     
  6. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    No idea they had a portable version; as said - it's been a "drive-by" install with some other application.

    Well, 80 MB of RAM is about the amount that all my remaining security arsenal used altogether. So - simply not acceptable for me for such basically one-purpose utility. ;)
     
  7. notsupplied_31

    notsupplied_31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    I finally uninstalled IdVault Free Edition from my old desktop and I installed another 256MB memory stick so it now has 768MB. I looked in Task Manager and it seemed to be using "only" 24MB while idle. If you have a new computer with 4+GB of RAM maybe you can live with this application and yes, I have other applications installed which use a lot more than 24 or even 80 MB. I am already running NIS 2004, AVG Free Edition, Spyware Blaster and Windows XP SP3 firewall as my security "suite". By the way, one site I could not get it to work with was this very forum; others were the Adobe sites including
    Acrobat_com .:doubt:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.