Identity Shield fail ?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Nightwalker, Jun 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784
    Sometime ago I reported the padlock missing bug , no big deal as I thought the protection was working fine but it wasnt. Today I decided to test Identity Shield against some keyloggers simulators ( SpyShelter , AKLT ) and it failed even with the padlock on :doubt:

    Maybe some problem with my system?

    Ps: Windows 7 x64 , Essentials .193 , Google Chrome and Firefox.
     
  2. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Yeah, I have the same issue with the missing padlock. I have had a remote session with a one of Webroot engineer and he said it is only a cosmetic issue but the shield is working fine ... it doesn't seem to be completely right ... yesterday I used Zemana's test files to verify the shield and WSA failed on 2 tests what later afternoon Webroot also confirmed, so apparently there is something wrong with WSA and they are looking into it. If you are willing to help them, you can join the Webroot community and post your troubles.

    More to see and follow up at http://community.webroot.com/t5/Webroot-SecureAnywhere/Identity-shield-not-working/m-p/5852
     
  3. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Testing security Apps is Always a good idea :thumb: If only more people would :(

    How do we know if Apps do what they are "supposed" to, if we don't test them, with as many tools/exploits etc as we can ? Well we don't, unless we do ;) Just expecting them to perform as advertised, just doesn't cut it, especially these days :eek:

    I'm NOT signalling out WSA, this applies to ALL vendors !
     
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Do you have the default option of allow trusted screen grabbers enabled? You may want to disable this and then reboot to see if it blocks it. Ive just tested it myself and we cover it fine on 7 x64. Leak tests are difficult as they aren't actually malicious so they get whitelisted by our database, causing them to not be tested properly.
     
  5. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Hello Joe :)
    No, I have the option disabled and all my tests I reported in the Webroot community forum (a link is above) were performed with the option disabled as well.
     
  6. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784
    I will follow up :)

    Yeah , I think so :thumb:
     
  7. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784
    Yes , It was enabled but disabled doesnt make difference. Prior to version V8.0.1.173 everything was fine.

    As you can see here https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=322840

    Thanks
     
  8. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784
    Identity Shield isnt working for sure on my system , it allowed a print screen even on a HTTPS site with "allow trusted screen grabbers" disabled. o_O
     
  9. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I also tested it against Spyshelter's simulator, and it allowed Test 6 (screen grabber test); it blocked the others, though. I tested it with latest Google Chrome version, in https website.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.