identity shield does not work when web threat is disabled

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by RF78FR, Dec 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RF78FR

    RF78FR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Ages ago I disabled web threat shield because I don't need it an frankly it broke my web browsing.

    The main reason I bought this product is because of identity shield, but I just did some testing and found out that it isn't working, even though it says it is enabled and protecting me!!!?

    I've been unprotected this whole time. I feel let down. If identity shield needs web threat shield why doesn't it say that when you disable it?
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Re: identity shield does nit work when web threat is disabled

    Yes it looks that you need Web Threat Shield enabled for Identity Shield to work properly, you should see a Orange exclamation mark on the Tray Icon! We will wait to see what PrevxHelp has to say!

    Thanks for the info!

    TH
     
  3. webbit

    webbit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Posts:
    222
    for me identity sheild comes on when i go on websites i have added to the list
     
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We're working on de-coupling the Identity Shield from Web Threat Shield and it should be corrected in the next series of builds. In the meantime, you may want to re-enable the Web Threat Shield (it might be working properly now as we've made several improvements recently). If it still doesn't work, can you try disabling Settings - Web Threat Shield - Analyze search engine results?

    Thanks!
     
  5. JCRUYFF

    JCRUYFF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Posts:
    87
    Hi

    One Question is Web Threat Shield is only compatible with IE and Firefoxo_O
    if i use Chrome i can disable ito_O.


    Thanks
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It is compatible with all browsers - the search result annotation only shows in Firefox/IE, but you won't see any negative side effects when leaving it enabled in Chrome.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.