identity shield does not work when web threat is disabled

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by RF78FR, Dec 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RF78FR

    RF78FR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Ages ago I disabled web threat shield because I don't need it an frankly it broke my web browsing.

    The main reason I bought this product is because of identity shield, but I just did some testing and found out that it isn't working, even though it says it is enabled and protecting me!!!?

    I've been unprotected this whole time. I feel let down. If identity shield needs web threat shield why doesn't it say that when you disable it?
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,644
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Re: identity shield does nit work when web threat is disabled

    Yes it looks that you need Web Threat Shield enabled for Identity Shield to work properly, you should see a Orange exclamation mark on the Tray Icon! We will wait to see what PrevxHelp has to say!

    Thanks for the info!

    TH
     
  3. webbit

    webbit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Posts:
    223
    for me identity sheild comes on when i go on websites i have added to the list
     
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We're working on de-coupling the Identity Shield from Web Threat Shield and it should be corrected in the next series of builds. In the meantime, you may want to re-enable the Web Threat Shield (it might be working properly now as we've made several improvements recently). If it still doesn't work, can you try disabling Settings - Web Threat Shield - Analyze search engine results?

    Thanks!
     
  5. JCRUYFF

    JCRUYFF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Posts:
    87
    Hi

    One Question is Web Threat Shield is only compatible with IE and Firefoxo_O
    if i use Chrome i can disable ito_O.


    Thanks
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It is compatible with all browsers - the search result annotation only shows in Firefox/IE, but you won't see any negative side effects when leaving it enabled in Chrome.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.