IDE to new hardware w/SATA Raid-0

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by beaux_zeaux, Nov 25, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. beaux_zeaux

    beaux_zeaux Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,
    I purchased a new Dell 9150 with two SATA 160gig drives striped on a SATA Raid controller (built-in). I have TI 9.0 and successfully cloned the existing IDE drive in my old machine (XP Pro SP2) using the bootable CD. I was able to install the image onto the new machine's SATA drives, but when I went to boot, I go the BSOD. I'm sure that it has to do with the SATA controller drivers not being present in the restored image so the system doesn't know how to deal with them. That's what I think any way.

    So, I've read some of the forum messages and FAQ's, but am not sure how to avoid having to re-install all my apps and data, and just clone the drive over to the new hardware, have it recognize and install the new hardware, but maintain all my information and programs. Somehow I need to get the sata drivers onto the IDE HD Image so that booting up onto the new SATA drives can find these. If I boot off the WIndows XP CD, I can hit F6 and load the drivers off a floppy and I can wipe and install Windows no problem on my new SATA drives, so I know I have the right drivers for the SATA cards.

    Any way, can someone provide the necessary step(s) to pull this off? I'd really appreciate it. Thanks.

    John
     
  2. rdgrimes

    rdgrimes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Posts:
    92
    It's nearly impossible to move an OS from one machine to another. Never mind the lack of RAID drivers, virtually all other drivers will also be absent. Keep the image and use it to recover your data, but you clearly have to do a fresh install on the new machine, or leave the Dell install in place. Also be aware that Dell installs multiple partitions, with one being the OS and others being rescue/recovery data. If you choose to do a fresh install on the new Dell, 1st delete all existing partitions from the existing array.
     
  3. beaux_zeaux

    beaux_zeaux Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks for getting back. I've moved IDE drive images from one hardware platform to another several times before with older version of TI, but the destination machine had an ide drive too. I just had to reboot multiple times to allow it to find compatible drivers and then install Dell specific drivers for those hardware items that Windows couldn't find specific matches for. I know what you mean with the other patitions on the Dell box, and now they put the system recovery in its own partition (or the Norton product that they use does this).

    Since I wiped the drive on the new computer and did a fresh install of Windows XP Pro SP2, all I had to provide was the SATA drivers at the inital phase of install and then Windows installed the rest w/o a hitch (again, I had to provide video, NIC, sound, etc. drivers to finish off the install.) So, that is why I thought I could possibly somehow get the SATA drivers into the system (IDE Image) so once restored, it could recognize them at bootup, but I don't know exactly how to do this.

    John
     
  4. alihaha

    alihaha Guest

    hi; i am about to get my 9150 this monday; i too have 2 sata raid 0 drives and plan to image my present ide windows xp pro sp2 onto the sata drives;

    my plan is to image and subsequently do a repain [second repair option] with xp [i have done this now for the past few computer upgrades so that i do not have to reinstall anything]; what happens is that windows installs the new windows drivers, etc on your original windows folder and keeps all your apps; the repair you want to use is the second repair option after you request a full install.

    Try it and you will not have to reinstall any apps;

    btw, did you have to reset the raid before you use TI to put your backup onto the new machines; any hithces along the way [as I have seen many posts stating difficulty with upgrading these 9150's to a new xp pro]; aslo do you knwo if TI 8 will work [or did you try TI 8]

    thnx
     
  5. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    Guys a long shot but you might be able to do this


    - I have sucessfully taken drive from one machine to another without doing a repair install - key make sure you remove non standard drivers or use the microsoft sys prep tool.

    - but a repair install usually works


    As for going from IDE to SATA - I have done that once on . ... But I had a SATA controller with the same chipset on the old machine


    So you could try installing a SATA controller with the same chipset to your old machine ( £10) - load the driver - addd a SATA drive a a blank disk you image will have the needed driver - remove non standard drivers / one that are for the old machine MB video and disk

    Reboot - should have a bootable machine with vanilla driver


    Clone disk to SATA and shutdown remove ide drive - reboot


    It might work it might not - Video and Disk controller are usually what stops it working
     
  6. beaux_zeaux

    beaux_zeaux Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Alihaha,

    Yes, I tried the second repair option and what happened to me was that XP copied the files over fine, rebooted and started the install and it looks like when it starts trying to figure out the Video driver (screen flashes three times which I have seen on regular installs), it automatically rebooted the machine and started the repair install again, never getting out of this endless loop. I saw this mentioned by several other posters so what I thought about doing was switching video cards from my old machine to the new machine and then trying to do the repair install. Haven't attempted this yet. I too have had some luck with this, but not with this IDE-to-SATA situation, however, it may not be the SATA at all at this point, rather the video card or something else.

    I still don't know how to get the Sata drivers onto the existing image so that possibly, Windows will pick that up when booting the image copied to the new PC's Sata config.

    As far as problems, I didn't encounter any in creating the image nor in restoring the image from the CD. It picked up the sata raid no problem and let me restore the entire image. Took about an hour so that wasn't bad (about 30gig) from an external USB drive to the internal SATA Raid. If you find anything else out, let me know. Thanks a lot.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello beaux_zeaux,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Here is the basic scheme of transferring the operating system to a different hardware:

    - Prepare your Windows for transferring using Microsoft System Preparation Tool (sysprep) as it is described in this FAQ article;

    - Either create an image of the prepared Windows and then restore this image to the desired location or use Clone Disk wizard to transfer the entire contents of your old hard drive to the new disk;

    - Try to boot as usual;

    - If it does not boot then please do the following (depending on the operating system you use):

    - Boot the computer from Windows 95/98/ME Startup Disk and run "fdisk /mbr" command;

    - Boot the computer from Windows 2000/XP Installation CD and run "fixmbr" command in Recovery Console;

    - In case it still does not boot, perform Windows Repair Installation as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    As for transferring the operating system from IDE to SATA hard drives, please take a look at this article.

    Please also note that we do not guarantee the successful transferring of your operating system to a different hardware. Actually, no one can guarantee this.

    If you have any further questions please feel free to ask.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2005
  8. beaux_zeaux

    beaux_zeaux Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    After struggling way too much with this issue, I just used Alohabob's PC Relocator and that worked in less than 2 hours for 30+gig. Only had to repair a half dozen apps or so and add printers again. Still like TI for going between like hardware, but it just didn't fit the bill on this one. Thanks for multiple suggestions.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.