IBM Laptop HD to Larger Lenovo Desktop HD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mcgreevs, Mar 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mcgreevs

    mcgreevs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Hey everyone,

    So I have been having some problems backing up and restoring an old IBM T41(33.86gb) laptop harddrive to a new Lenovo ThinkCentreT Hitachi 150 gb hard drive with True Image 10. I'm attempting to copy the old hard drive to the new so I can ship the laptop back and begin working on my new ThinkCentre.

    I'm not sure where to begin but essentially I Backup a copy of my old hard drive with True Image 10 on my fully functioning IBM T41 laptop to a USB hard drive. I then place the boot cd into the new Lenovo ThinkCentre with the USB hard drive and boot from the CD. I follow the prompts including verification and attempt to recover the now backed up copy on my USB. The problem is once it finishes I close out of it and get all giddy to reboot with my copied hard drive. Unfortunately it starts up and takes me to the windows loading screen (with the blue status bar floating from left to right)and then it suddenly stops and reboots again. Once it does reboots it says the system has changed since the last time I used it. It prompts me to run it in safe mode or safe mode with networking or last known settings or just straight windows. When I try any of the options it still just reboots. I read in one of the forums it could be a partition size issue. So I partitioned the disk to the same size so it would be more familiar but it didn't work.

    In more of the forums it talked about possible "Hidden Partition" issues. I'm just wondering why the Lenovo won't accept the copied hard drive. For all intensive purposes it appears to be there, but it won't boot.

    This is probably pretty common and I'm just forgetting some simple thing. I hope.

    Any Help is beyond appreciated,

    Thanks,

    mcgreevs
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    mcgreevs,

    I'm a little confused. Are you working with two laptops?
    Are you attempting to copy the the HD from laptop 1 to the HD in laptop 2?
    Then trying to boot laptop 2 using the OS that was on laptop 1?
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I'm somewhat clearer. Substitute desktop for laptop 2.
     
  4. mcgreevs

    mcgreevs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Hey Brian,

    Yeah, I'm transferring from the IBM laptop T41 model to the new Lenovo Desktop ThinkCentre. The IBM is connected through ATA and the new Lenovo is connected through SATA. Would that make any difference?

    My hunch is it's the IBM/Lenovo boot sequence software that doesn't recognize the copied hard drive copied over or vice versa.

    Thanks for you reply,

    I'll keep you updated.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    mcgreevs,

    I see lots of problems.

    1. You are using an image from one computer on another, different hardware, computer. This usually doesn't work.

    2. The IDE image doesn't have SATA drivers.

    3. The IBM laptop has different CHS geometry to the desktop computer.

    There's a Nobel prize for you if it works.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello mcgreevs,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please note that as Brian K mentioned, if you are transferring the system to a different hardware (for example, different motherboard and another processor version), the restored system most probably be unbootable because the new hardware is incompatible with the most critical drivers included in the image.

    Thus, for transferring the system to a different hardware and be completely sure that the restored operating system will boot and function normally we recommend that you use Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation in conjunction with Acronis Universal Restore for your purposes. Acronis Universal Restore technology provides an efficient solution for hardware-independent system restoration by replacing the crucial HAL and hard disk controller drivers. Please read more information on how to use Acronis Universal Restore in Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation User's Guide.

    Please be aware that Acronis Universal Restore plug-in is available for Corporate Products only.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  7. mcgreevs

    mcgreevs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Ha, a nobel prize. Well good to know. Thanks for the help. I appreciate it.



     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.