I want this: two versions of XP on same box, one for testing one for production

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by herojig, Jun 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. herojig

    herojig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    Kathmandu Nepal
    Hi all, I have the Suite and I want to do this:

    Have two versions of XP on my box, one for testing and one for production. I want to use OS Selector to switch to one or the other on boot.

    My configuration: 3 internal SATAS, one external USB drive. Currently I have the first SATA configured as C&D, C is active and primary and the rest are logical drives. The 3rd sata is large and empty. The external drive is just used for backups.

    So where do I start? Thanks!!!
    BS
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Do you have a standard OEM XP install cd or a retail install cd? (Not a brand name rescue cd like HP, Dell, etc.)

    Are you wanting to install the other XP on the empty SATA drive or do you want to repartition your first drive half and half for each?

    I assume you want to keep your current XP setup and the other will be a "clean" install of XP. Is this correct?

    Do you have True Image or another hard drive imaging program?
     
  3. RTShaw

    RTShaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Port Huron, Mi Usa
    i wouldnt it has problems. look at partition magics PQBoot32.exe... very little util- displays all os's in a window allowing u to select the one u want 2 boot from.
    I used DiskDirector10 to set a particular partition active and install or copy an os to it. then use PQBoot32.exe (partition magic) to quickly reboot into any os i want including my test xp, vista 32bit and vista 64 bit partitions (all on the same drive) don't know if it (PQboot32.exe) will pick up Linux partitions haven't set one up on this machine yet.
     
  4. RTShaw

    RTShaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Port Huron, Mi Usa
    ok.. here yah go..
    Run Disk Director 10 or partition magic 8.x
    if you already have a copy of xp installed and u want to use that one just use partition magic or DD210 to copy the partition to a blank spot (partition or drive)
    next run PQBoot32.exe from prtition magic, u should see 2 partrtions numbered 1 & 2. select the one u want 2 boot from.. thats it..

    wanna add a third os? run dds10 or partition magic create a blank partition marked primary, active. and NOT HIDDEN - reboot and install vista or what ever else os u want, then run PQBoot32.exe now 3 OS's should show up. 1 thru 3.. select the number u want to boot from and type it in 1, 2 or 3, It's that simple.. very very very very very very sim-pole..
     
  5. techweenie

    techweenie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Grand Blanc, MI
    Depending on how picky you are about drive letters, there are easy and complicated ways to do this. If you don't care about drive letters, just make your partitions the way you want and install XP to both of them. The XP boot loader will automatically allow you to select which one you want to boot. You don't have to worry about hiding partitions or using OSS/PQBoot.

    It gets very complicated if you want both installs to be on their own drive C:. The easiest way is to put each on their own drive, and remove the other drive while installing. Then you should be able to use OSS/PQBoot to select the one you want. If you want them on the same drive, then the easiest way is to create two primary partitions and FORMAT them before installing windows. Whichever one is active and visible should appear as C: in windows setup. I don't know if the XP boot loader can handle that setup, so you will probably be using OSS/PQBoot there as well.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.