I want my Avira back.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by trjam, May 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    UK
    Whenever Avira is tested on AVC they use maximum settings, I would just keep that in mind.
     
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,934
    Wow really? One would think that they would test at default settings. Thanks for the heads up.
     
  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I don't know if this is standard practice or not ,but when I was within less than a week of expirary for my previous licence I got an email from Avira offering a 15% dicount for renewal. I declined that offer and opted to install the licence I obtained in December at 33% off.;) :D
     
  4. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Actually the default is medium. But I agree with Macstorm about setting heuristics to high. The default update schedule which is every two hours is fine in my opinion unless you like to go malware hunting in which cae you had better have some other programs in your toolbox.
     
  5. kefob

    kefob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    United States
    I was reading through this and might have a few things to add. Avira has some huge things coming that will be awesome, and might change the AV world. Also, there is already a HIPS system in Avira, they just call it ProActiv. Also, if you enable the ProActiv community it enables a cloud functionality that shares the new behavioral detection with the community and spreads the new detection out. I don't know why they couldn't just call it HIPS, but their name might be a little cooler.
     
  6. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    818
    Because it isn't a HIPS. It's a behavioural blocker. It's not the same thing.
     
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,934
    Sorry meant to say medium. Guess I will crank them up to high. I dont generally go malware hunting, so I should be good to go. Thanks.
     
  8. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,378
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    There's been rumours about new developments for a while now, I wish out of sheer curiosity to have more details about it. Has ProActiv been fixed after that botched update?
     
  9. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,934
    Set heuristics to high. Will see how things go. Thanks guys.
     
  10. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    No yet that I'm aware of.

    The devs usually give a notice to us, the users, through a pinned topic in their forum... just after the fix was delivered in the first place :p
     
  11. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    ProActiv has been fixed one day after the incident, but it is still in testing.
     
  12. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,292
    Location:
    USA,IA
    i really like the free version but wish the ads would stop.
     
  13. carat

    carat Guest

    ~~ Link to "limited offer" removed ~~ :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 3, 2012
  14. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    702
  15. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Waiting for the TechPreview.

    Earlier today, I received an email from the beta center saying they will be down about one hour within the next 24 hours for upgrading reasons. I see why now :thumb:
     
  16. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,934
    Sounds good. Thank you!
     
  17. ELWIS1

    ELWIS1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    60
    Avira Protection Cloud TechPreview will be today?
     
  18. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    Yup, later today. The database needed some additional work which is still in progress.

    Database took some time, now internal testing. So release will be tomorrow most likely.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012
  19. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,934
    Thanks for the tip. Was hoping for today as now I wont have time to look until next week.

    Cheers.
     
  20. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    818
  21. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,934
  22. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    I am currently a beta tester and after clicking it it says I have to wait a few days for a emailo_O?
     
  23. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Avira doesn't update their database that often so why change from the default 2 hours?
     
  24. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,055
    If you had read carefully an earlier post all you need to do is simply turn them off.
    It is not a valid reason for removing a program from your computer.
    Avira ia highly respected german company and does not deserve severe criticism because of some small shortcomings.
    Remember the product is free and thus we should be grateful we have people developing the program for our safety.
    Kind regards
     
  25. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    I got used to that interval time since the previous versions. Call me paranoid but I frequently find new definitions by pushing updates manually, even between the hourly checks.

    What's more to me, Avira Internet Security is the only security app I have (along with the Trusteer Rapport browser add-on for my online transactions).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.