I think ghostwall killed my wifi

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by masqueofhastur, Jan 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. masqueofhastur

    masqueofhastur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    109
    I installed GhostWall, it worked fine at first. After rebooting I got an error that the driver couldn't initialise. I figured that might be an odd instance, so I rebooted again, same problem kicked in. I uninstalled, and now after rebooting my WLAN LED doesn't go on anymore, and I can't scan for networks. It beats me why GhostWall would have done this, but, that's the order of events...

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    My Toshiba Laptop does this sometimes. The LED for the Wireless wont turn on at all nothing I push. I have to power the computer completely down then wait 30 and power it up and it works fine.... No idea why mine does this but maybe yours is doing the same.
     
  3. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Does this on my Acer also, I boot up and it tells me no device detected. I reboot and everything is fine. It happens about once or twice a week.
     
  4. masqueofhastur

    masqueofhastur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    109
    Rebooting didn't fix anything. Done it twice, still no go. I had a hunch it wouldn't make a difference as I haven't had this problem before, and it came in directly after ghostwall was uninstalled. Does anyone know what kind of driver it installs and if that could be working in some fashion with the wifi drivers?
     
  5. Rules

    Rules Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    537
    Location:
    Europa
    So, i've ever seen this issue before. First when you install your wifi driver just install the driver not the software Package, maybe there is a conflict with the windows one.

    Second, turn off your computer and push the power buttons during 30-45 seconds.

    Also, you have to enable your wifi button before shutdown your computer.

    Not sure these 3 things resolved your problem, however on a hp laptop the problem dissapear.

    Hope it's help you, if you can read my horrible english:)

    Rules
     
  6. masqueofhastur

    masqueofhastur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    109
    Thanks. It was actually much simpler, but that made me look in the right place. For some reason the driver was just disabled. Everything's fine now.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. hayc59
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    605
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.