I recommend Easus Todo Backup Free

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by CrusherW9, Oct 21, 2014.

  1. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    So I've been using Easus Todo Backup Free for about 8 months now and I got to say, for a free imaging program, it's pretty darn good. It offers incremental images with scheduling and automatic image management. It also offers encryption, variable compression and priority levels, and can backup to network drives. I've recovered probably about 15-20 times and it's worked every time. I don't see why it isn't recommended and used more so I thought I'd give it a bit of notice here :thumb:
     
  2. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    People on the thinkpad list thought it didnt cope with errors very well, taking a lot longer to image than other imaging programs.
    I use macrium reflect myself
     
  3. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    The incremental images are very fast for me. Here's a little comparison someone performed.
     
  4. taotoo

    taotoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    415
    I tried it briefly and from what I saw of it I quite agree. It seemed to be like True Image but lighter and free. If I didn't need snapshot capabilities it'd be at the top of my list to try further.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    It may be good but not for everyone. I tested it, and my first restore failed.
     
  6. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    I tried it a couple of years ago. I had no problems with the imaging but I didn't like the interface and all the unwanted links to upgrade or buy other software. I use the Aomei programs instead which are just as functional and not as intrusive.
     
  7. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,238
    I also really like it as it's free and works very well. In the past I've had major issues with paid solutions from Acronis and Paragon where they had problems with a backup image and simply would not restore it when they found an error - there was no option to ignore the error and continue with the restore.
     
  8. Krysis

    Krysis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    DownUnder
    Been using ET for over 2 years now – consider it one of the most reliable imaging programs I've ever tried. An added bonus is that it's Linux recovery CD works just fine when restoring images.
     
  9. constantine76

    constantine76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Posts:
    178
    Tried Aomei Backupper Pro and it felt good to use. Reminded me of ATI. Will try EASEUS Todo.
     
  10. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,515
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I can't speak to a lot of usage their Free software.

    For years I've been using EaseUS Todo Backup Advanced Server 4.5. Quite expensive but.... Years & years & years of restoring & imaging. Over 500 uses & not 1 failure. My favorite aspect is restoring to dissimilar hardware. Tried others, even newer versions of this. But always come back to 4.5.
     
  11. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    tried it more than a few times. and just not for me. and i do actually even own the workstation lic's but i would not use it on anything more than a test system personally.
     
  12. legacy

    legacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Posts:
    87
    Been using todo backup for years now. I do a lot of imaging with dissimilar restore and it has never once let me down. Also Works fantastic with management console in business environments.

    Also when my AX64 backup failed and blue screened. MY extra backup with todo restored with no problems and peace of mind.
     
  13. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    I was thinking that i'm the only one with this problem...every time i tried Easeus the restore part failed for me too...using Aomei and Macrium free with no issues at all.
     
  14. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,278
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I tried EaseUS ToDo Free. It worked fine restoring images to the same partition. But restoring the same Win8 image to a new HD was not so good. Win8 started with an "Automatic Repair" and then "Attempting Repairs" which I aborted after 20 minutes. I did get the OS to boot by using BIBM but that should not have been necessary.

    Restoring the image into a smaller partition (but large enough for the data) where the sectors in use didn't fit was a disaster. A virtual partition was created which overlapped an adjacent partition.
     
  16. Sarah33

    Sarah33 Lurker

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    EaseUS ToDo Works well for me, my family is its big fan. But still keep in Version 6.5
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Sarah33,

    Do you have any issues restoring an image to a new HD?
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I'm not getting any feedback here. Restoring images to the same partition works every time for me and I'd imagine that is what most people in this thread have been doing. But restoring an image to a new HD fails every time. At least in my test computer. So if the HD fails, a bare metal restore will fail and you may as well have not had a backup. Any comments?
     
  19. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,515
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    If you are correct. Then it looks like this version is geared towards software corruption & not hardware failures.
     
Loading...