I/O Error

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by Tigeromega, Mar 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tigeromega

    Tigeromega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Canada
    Every time I start Backup I get I/O error on Disk1. I click ignore and make my back up. Every thing works ok. I verify the back up and it passes. My disk1 is a Seagate USB 3.0 drive. Can any one explain this error? I get it every time I run the program.
     
  2. fireworker

    fireworker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Posts:
    277
    Location:
    Russia
  3. Tigeromega

    Tigeromega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Canada
    I ran Seatools and scandisk as well. No errors just the Paragon error.
     
  4. fireworker

    fireworker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Posts:
    277
    Location:
    Russia
  5. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    USA
    If its plugged into a USB 3 port, see if it gives an error in a USB 2 port to help isolate the cause.
     
  6. John Doe Genius

    John Doe Genius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Posts:
    140
    I don't know, Tigeromega, but I read this:

    Paragon Knowledge Base System Last Edit: 27.09.2007
    ID 2128: "Hard disk I/0 Error!" message when trying to run some operations on Fat16/32 partitions.
    Q: I get "I/0 Error" when trying to run some operations on FAT16/FAT32 partitions. Operation is not performed after this error.
    A: The reason of such a behavior can be as follows: if your C: drive is formatted in FAT16 and there are no more free RootEntries on it (i.e. the amount of files and folders in the root of this partition is equal to RootEntries for this partition) operations with FAT16/32 partitons will not work on this machine. That happens due to an attempt to create temporary file on C: and failure.

    Workaround: Please, delete 5 files from drive C: root or enlarge the number of Root Entries using Partition Manager.

    However, I doubt you have FAT16/32 on your Seagate USB 3.0 drive. You should try to follow Rolo42's advice, I think.
     
  7. Tigeromega

    Tigeromega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Canada
    I only have the USB 3 cable. I guess I can live with error message. The back up and verify work, at least I hope so. I haven't tried to restore yet and really don't want to at this point. If it fails then the back up is kind of useless to me.
     
  8. Tigeromega

    Tigeromega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Canada
    where do i find the biontlog.txt and stubact.log files? I did a search and can't find them.
     
  9. Tigeromega

    Tigeromega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah i got the USB 2 port. It still didn't work. I even reformatted the disk. No joy. Uninstalled the 3.0 port and reinstalled. No joy. Every disk check I tried says disk ok. I will not trust a program that says ERROR. All I want is program that will back up my hard drive. I hope Paragon can help.
     
  10. fireworker

    fireworker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Posts:
    277
    Location:
    Russia
    Paragon maybe can help. But not on this forum, they don't come here lately. Mail to tech support then they respond.
     
  11. garioch7

    garioch7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    Canada
    I experience the same thing on one of my computers on a regular basis; on the other computer, the error message is infrequent. I tell it to Ignore All, and everything works fine. I have done a full partition restore, and it was flawless and my Archive Integrity checks always pass.

    I think it is just an "enhanced feature" of the HDM11 suite. Maybe they have fixed it in Version 12. I am still waiting for them to permit me to upgrade my volume licence.

    Have a great day.

    Regards,
    -Phil
     
  12. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I would not take the archive integrity check as an absolute confirmation that all is well in cases like this. The Verify checks that the archive can be read into RAM and the checksums successfully recreated and the archive makes sense to the program. This is good but it does not mean anything skipped was not important since the checksums are created from what is included in the archive. Of course, the skipping may not have left out anything depending on the cause of the IO error.

    One thing to try, if you haven't, is to try using the recovery media to create the image. This deals with the source disk as a static disk and takes any Windows configurations out of the picture. However, the Linux recovery disk if you use it may not see the USB3 drive and the WinPE recovery disk will likely need the driver added after it is booted up.
     
  13. brutisb

    brutisb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    New Zealand
    If you are using WinPE (Windows Boot media) then unfortunately this is a known problem with HDM 11 and HDM 12 all versions and updates (as-of-date).

    There is a rather lengthy thread here https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=315679&highlight=usb3 starting at Post #29 with the final Post #55 being the feedback from Paragon admitting the problem.

    So to sum up, it's not a problem with your Seagate drive or the way you are installing it, etc, etc, etc but the problem is the Paragon software.

    This should have been fixed by now and as far as I'm concerned Paragon stating that HDM 12 has "Support for USB 3.0 - More effectively manage external hard drives by using all benefits of the USB 3.0 interface" is not the whole truth as they are fully aware that at least Seagate and Transcend USB 3.0 drives do not work 100%.
     
  14. garioch7

    garioch7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    Canada
    Brutisb: I get the error with HDM Suite 12, as I did with Suite 11, and my backup drive is an internal 1 TB WD drive connected via SATA. I have successfully restored from archive.

    It would seem that the problem is not just with USB3. Interestingly, my other computer has an external WD 2 TB drive (USB2.0) with a SG internal 500 GB disk and I never get that error any more with Suite 12, but did infrequently with Suite 11.

    Both computers have been scanned and there are no bad sectors. As I said before, I think that this is just an "enhanced feature." I just "Ignore All" and proceed. Maybe Paragon will get this fixed with their next version ...

    Have a great day.

    Regards,
    -Phil
     
  15. brutisb

    brutisb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I now use HDM12 Boot Media (the new WinPE) to do my Backup's and an External USB3 HDD. Since it won't work with USB3, I plug the drive into USB2. I've never had an error on Backup or Restore using USB2 and HDM11 or HDM12.
     
  16. wptski

    wptski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    USA
    Many USB3 cards use the same driver but your's may be different.
     
  17. Paragon_MA

    Paragon_MA Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Posts:
    165
    As it was said earlier this may be caused by by some specific USB3.0 issues. There are lots of vendors, drivers, controllers, etc. Some of them may lead to problems. Mostly switching to USB2.0 solves that.
    We advice affected ones to use Paragon Account web-page and send us "PWLOG.TXT", "STUBACT.LOG", "BioNTlog.TXT" and "fdisk.txt" log-files from program executable subfolder (usually "C:\Program Files\Paragon Software\ParagonProductVersion\Program")
     
  18. brutisb

    brutisb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Been there, done that back in March. The response from the support team at Paragon was -
    -----------------------
    Sorry for delayed response. Several tests were performed by our QA team using your info, and it was reproduced with Seagate GoFlex external drives same as your. Most of wizards and Advanced Launcher (but not Driver loader) start Hard Disk Manager engine which read all drives geometry. This is a problem with reading geometry through USB 3.0 connection of Seagate GoFlex controller. It will be fixed if possible. Unfortunately we can't provide a solution for now, only using USB 2.0 for WinPE. Sorry for inconvenience.
    -----------------------

    I also advised that the Transcend Storejet 1TB USB 3.0 external HDD also does not work.

    I'm not sure how long one has to wait.................. also hard to believe that Seagate is "specific" being one of the largest drive manufactures out there.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2012
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. kailasa108
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,104
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.