I need help, but not sure what the problem is!!

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ilovepizza, Oct 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ilovepizza

    ilovepizza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    I am having some problems with my computer and would really apperciate some help. I think they may be just a bunch of small problems, but they may be all related. I would perfer to talk over AIM or MSN to solve the problem, but if you want to talk on here I will post more info about the problem.
     
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    That would be most appreciated. Also....once We find out more info about your problem We can then move this thread to a more appropriate Forum.

    BTW....Welcome to Wilders [​IMG]
     
  3. ilovepizza

    ilovepizza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Here is what has happened so far.

    I ran Ad-ware SE professional and told it to scan everything. It keeps on freezing at a certain file. the file is located in documentsandsettings/adam/localsettings/temp/tempinternetfiles

    I tried to go into the folder and delete the file, but it either crashes back to the desktop when I click the folder it is in or freezes and I have to click end program. I tried searching for the file but once it found the file the search froze. I clicked run and then browse but everytime I clicked tempinternetfiles it crashed back to the desktop. What do I do?
     
  4. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    How long does it appear to be froze ?

    It is not unusual for Ad-Aware and a number of similar programs to pause for quite a few seconds on certain folders. In the case of the TIF folder if it is somewhat large it just might take what appears to be a long time.
     
  5. ilovepizza

    ilovepizza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    I wait 2 minutes each time I try.
     
  6. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I would suggest you empty your Temporary Internet Files and then rescan with Adaware.

    Internet Explorer\Tools\Internet Options\General tab....Temporary Internet Files\Delete files
     
  7. ilovepizza

    ilovepizza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    I already did that. There must be two different folders of temp internet files.
     
  8. ilovepizza

    ilovepizza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    What should I try next?
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
  10. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Now that I re-read the post above you do appear to have a somewhat abnormal location for the TIF files with Temp in the middle.

    localsettings/temp/tempinternetfiles

    Have you attempted to delete the files manually in the tempinternetfiles folder ?

    You could also open IE up again and tell it where that TIF folder is.

    Internet Explorer\Tools\Internet Options\General tab....Temporary Internet Files\Settings....then Move Folder
     

    Attached Files:

  11. ilovepizza

    ilovepizza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    I have attempted to delete the specific files ad-ware gets stuck on manually, but I have not attempted to delete all the files in the temp internet files manually.
     
  12. ilovepizza

    ilovepizza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    It says the loaction of my temp internet files is localsettings/tempinternetfiles not localsettings/temp/tempinternetfiles
     
  13. Corrine

    Corrine Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Hi, ilovepizza.

    I suggest you manually try to locate documentsandsettings/adam/localsettings/temp/tempinternetfiles and if it is on your computer and, after checking the contents of the folder to make sure you have not stored valid documents there, delete the remaining files.

    If that doesn't work, there are many other suggestions I have up my sleeve to help. :)
     
  14. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I still suggest you delete what's in that TIF folder and then see what happens.

    Edit
    Yeah.....what thu Rose lady above said :ninja: :blink:
     
  15. Corrine

    Corrine Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Upstate NY
  16. ilovepizza

    ilovepizza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    This is really pissing me off. Windows explorere keeps getting an error and shuts down my computer. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

    my AIM screen name is survivorfanpizza if someone wants to help me over AIM.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2005
  17. Randy_Bell

    Randy_Bell Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Posts:
    3,004
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    I am wondering if ilovepizza is infected with an lsass worm; the symptoms sound similar to that ..
     
  18. ilovepizza

    ilovepizza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    [​IMG]


    That is the stupid error I get!!!!!!!!!!!!:mad: :mad: :mad:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 13, 2005
  19. djuggernaut

    djuggernaut Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    hey,

    It was already mentioned above but i'm not sure if you tried doing this in safe mode. If it is a virus or something, then safe mode might allow you to delete it without things crashing.

    good luck
     
  20. ilovepizza

    ilovepizza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    I did try running ad-ware in safe mode and it still froze. I will try to delete the file in safe mode.
     
  21. ilovepizza

    ilovepizza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    My computer keeps on freezing now. My quick link bar on the botton of the screen does not work. I will click the icon on the quick link bar but nothing opens. It is strange though, because when I click the icon on the quick link bar it will say the process is running. For example, I will click the internet explorere icon on the quick link bar, to the right of start. No IE window will open, but when I click ctrl + alt + dlt and go to process it says IE is running.
     
  22. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    ilovepizza was having a hard time posting an attachment here, he had IM'ed me and I said I would post his Norton log file for him. This is a little beyond me, so if one of the Spyware Fighters wants to take a look, we'd be most obliged :)
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Randy_Bell

    Randy_Bell Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Posts:
    3,004
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    Definitely looks like some nasty spyware-adware, I suggest also posting here {CastleCops}:

    Hijackthis - Spyware, Viruses, Worms, Trojans Oh My!
     
  24. Corrine

    Corrine Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Definitely advanced help is needed. The temp file has been a massive storage site of nasties. In addition to Castle Cops, any of the ASAP member sites would be available for help as would LandzDown Forum where there will not likely be as long of a wait. (ASAP link in my signature as well as LandzDown & Freedomlist)
     
  25. ilovepizza

    ilovepizza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    ewido cleaned 281 files!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    That is a start.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.