I messed up...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by sheski3, Nov 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sheski3

    sheski3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    I wanted to upgrade my 80Gb laptop drive to a new 250Gb drive.

    All of the space on the 250Gb drive was unallocated.

    I cloned the 80Gb drive to the 250 Gb drive and ended up with (2) 80Gb drives. Neither drive had any unallocated space.

    I know I made a mistake somewhere, but I would like to know how to recover the missing 170Gb of space on the 250Gb drive.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. port50side

    port50side Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    So are you saying that on the 250GB drive you do cannot find the remaining 170GB of unallocated space?

    Can you see if the extra space under Disc Management within Windows?

    Regards
     
  3. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    That's a common problem ... here's how to regain that space:
    ================================
    If you have already cloned your drive and just want to regain the missing space proceed as follows:
    1. Make the bootable True Image Rescue cd, if you have not already done so.
    2. Boot with it and from its main menu choose Manage Acronis Secure Zone.
    3. Create an SZ of any size less than the missing unallocated space. Do not accept the default to activate the Startup Recovery Manager.
    4. OK back to the main menu.
    5. Go right back into the Manage ASZ.
    6. Choose to Delete the SZ.
    7. When asked what to do with the space, accept the default to append it to the existing partition.
    8. Back out to the Main Menu, Exit the process, quickly remove the CD and reboot the system (if it doesn't self reboot).
    ====================================
     
  5. sheski3

    sheski3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks much for the help.

    I'll try the suggestions tonight when I get home.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    In case one experiences a similar issue with the HPA (Host Protected Area) management we would recommend a free HDD Capacity Restore Tool to set the drive capacity to a factory size.

    Please feel free to contact us again any time should you have any further questions.

    Thank you.

    Best Regards,
    Alexey Bogomolov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.