I Like Avast

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Aug 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    It could be a number of conflicts. Just because it works well on someones desktop doesn't mean it will on my laptop. The time I used Comodo firewall and avast, I still had the issue with slower web browsing and slower start up. It clearly must be something else that is causing the conflict. What is the conflict? I'm not really sure. As I said there are plenty of free Av's out there that don't have the same conflicts. As joeblack mentioned his combo seems to be working fine for him.
     
  2. Montmorency

    Montmorency Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    Indeed.
    It could just be the crapware pre-installed in your machine, and/or programs you installed, and/or programs wrongly unistalled...

    But, personally, I wouldn'g go with Comodo/avast.
     
  3. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yeah I don't have any "crapware" on my laptop. Nor do I have any improperly installed programs. Thanks for assuming it's something wrong on my system. Fact is that many folks are running Comodo Firewall and Avast without issues.
    As I said before I've run earlier versions of Avast free and comodo firewall without any problems.
     
  4. Technical

    Technical Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    Brazil
    Thanks for the positive feedback guys ;)
     
  5. Montmorency

    Montmorency Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    And many are running the combo with issues.

    I'm not trying to bash Comodo nor Avast, quite the oposite; they are top notch in their own fields.

    But if I would have glitches with both together (assuming it was not my machine), I would ditch one of them.
     
  6. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I know right! Ok. I'll stop.
     
  7. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    942
    Location:
    Southern California
    I popped for 2 3 computer licenses for avast! Internet Security.

    Now, since I only have 5 computers, I'm going to have to buy another computer.;)

    Yes, I love it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2012
  8. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,304
    Make sure you have enough computers to trial all the AVs you want to.
    I have been looking for a "steal" of a deal for the IS. I have two of the specials for the Pro version. I keep looking, and while I have seen what appears to be good deals all are downloads from stores I am not familiar with so don't trust the downloads.

    If anyone sees a great deal please post.

    Both the free and IS versions have run well on my laptop. Not even a hiccup.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  9. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2012
  10. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,304
    Those results seem strange to me in view of the AV-C tests.
    Jerry
     
  11. Vladimyr

    Vladimyr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Australia
    +1
    I'm looking for 3 to 5 PCs at around US $9 per user, per year (i.e. what I paid last time ;)) - anytime between now and January.
     
  12. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,304
    Are you looking for the IS? Pro versions are still available for $9.99 as a download.
    http://store.downloadcrew.com/
    Jerry
     
  13. adrenaline7

    adrenaline7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    128
    I usually recommend Avast Free over the other AV's to people who won't learn something like Comodo, LUA & SRP, or sandboxie.

    Avast Internet Security sounds rock solid since you can Sandbox whatever you want with it.
     
  14. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,304
    I admit I do not understand the sandbox. I need to find a good and simple explanation of how it works. I think I have read some threads where someone has had trouble with the Avast sandbox, but not sure.

    The Avast IS is running so well I may just go with it instead of another AV, but would like to find a bargain. I also want to try KIS 2013 when it is placed on the market.

    Jerry
     
  15. adrenaline7

    adrenaline7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    128
    It is my understanding that Avasts Sandbox in Avast Internet Security is essentially just like the product Sandboxie.

    In Sandboxie for example suppose you to secure your browser or media player as much as possible. You can open your browser or media player inside the sandbox, a virtual environment seperate from your computer, to use the browser or media player.

    In other words, the browser or media player, or whatever you run in the sandbox is running in "pretend land" which is discarded as soon as you close your browser or media player.

    So having a fully configurable Sandbox + Avast + Firewall seems excellent to me.
     
  16. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,304
    It does seem to be a good idea, but it also gives some problems. I have not used it so can't make an assessment on my machines.

    I have to wonder if it is worth it since I have never had any malware or problems with my passwords being stolen. Of course that does not mean I cannot have such problems.
    Thanks for the explanation.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  17. SbUniT

    SbUniT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Singapore
    free is always good!!!
    paid ones do not iterate as much as it used to be.
    AV seems very quiet.
    I heard that they produce their own virus so that people will keep buying their license.
    is that statement true?
     
  18. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Really? And what made you think that?
     
  19. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Here you go. ;)
     
  20. Vladimyr

    Vladimyr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah I saw that, and it is right within my 'miserly' price target :D
    The way I see it, I don't really need to pay for AV protection but would like to stay with AIS if it doesn't cost me too much.

    1. I already have spare licenses for other products (including Bullguard that you mentioned elsewhere) which I could use if I did not prefer avast!.

    2. Only 2 of my machines are for commercial use so if I want to, I can always use 'avast! Free' on the other 3, but...

    3. Those 2 machines run XP Pro and I find the integrated avast! FW provides excellent outbound protection. (The anti-spam I could easily live without.)
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
  21. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    942
    Location:
    Southern California
    I got mine directly from avast!

    1 year, 3 computers $29.99

    1 year, 3 computers $34.99

    I'm 78 years old - don't need more.
     
  22. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,720
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    What kind of things can a new user expect to run into with the free version of Avast? For instance is the sandbox on by default? I'm askiing because a lot of people coming to Avast from another program will not have encountered a sandbox before.
     
  23. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,304
    The free version does not have a sandbox.
    http://www.avast.com/free-antivirus-download
    The sandbox does not work by default in the Pro and IS versions. You have to choose to use the sandbox in individual browsers.

    I tried it in AIE, but the browsers, IE 9 and FF, did not work properly. The IE 9 I could not open some of the bookmark folders and click on the bookmarks then FF stopped working and the sandbox tab showed, but I could not get rid of it.

    These problems also persisted after I unchecked the "use sandbox". I restarted, but nothing changed. I ended up removing AIS and am now using Avast Pro, but not the sandbox. I do like the Safezone.

    I realize that with enough help, and effort I might make it work, but I am not willing to put forth much effort for something I do not need. I have never used a sandbox.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  24. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,720
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Thanks for the input Jerry.
     
  25. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,304
    You are very welcome.
    Jerry
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.