I keep getting an error message

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Monte-Cristo, Mar 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Monte-Cristo

    Monte-Cristo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Montreal (Quebec)
    Hi,

    Acronis True Image 6 was installed on my computer when I bought it one and a half year ago.

    I bought a Maxtor external hard drive. For a while I did an image of my HD on the Maxtor once a week.

    Then a few weeks ago, I'm starting to have this error message near the end of the copy, at exactly 8 min 12 sec before the end.

    The message is: Failed to write data to the image archive. A possible reason may be poor media quality.

    I thought perhaps the Maxtor HD was defect, but I ran scandisk and it seems perfect.

    Any idea anyone ? Thanks. :D
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Monte-Cristo,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please note that Acronis True Image 6.0 is an outdated version of the software and we do not develop updates for it anymore.

    Could you please download and install Acronis True Image 9.0 trial version and see how it works on your computer?

    If the problem still persists, please describe your actions in Acronis True Image 9.0 step-by-step. Please also clarify when exactly you have received the error message.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
  3. Monte-Cristo

    Monte-Cristo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Montreal (Quebec)
    Hi,

    Thank you for your answer. I will try what you have suggested. Thanks again.:thumb:
     
  4. Monte-Cristo

    Monte-Cristo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Montreal (Quebec)
    Hi,

    I tried doing an image of my HD with Acronis True Image 9.0 like you have suggested. Now this time instaed of having an error message, I had my computer reboot 2 minutes before the end of the back-up.

    I tried twice, same thing happened. I went on Acronis web site to try the step-by-step thing, but I coulndn't find it.

    What is this step-by-step thing ?

    Thanks o_O
     
  5. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    He means to document step by step what you were doing when the problem occurred. Include, screen shots if you can.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Monte-Cristo,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    First of all, please check each partition of both your internal and external hard drives by Windows utility:

    - For Windows 9x please use Windows menu Start\Run then enter the command "scandskw" and test all drives;

    - For Windows XP please use Windows menu Start\Run, then enter the command "chkdsk c: /r" "chkdsk d: /r" for every partition of your hard drive.

    Note that you will need to reboot your computer in order to scan the system partition.

    Please also download the latest version of Acronis drivers, install it with disabled logging and see if the problem still persists.

    If the problem still persists then please provide us with the following information:

    - Enable logging by running the Acronis drivers installation package once again, reproduce the problem and collect the c:\snapapi.log file;

    - Create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    - Describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step.

    Please also do the following:

    - Open Computer properties either by right clicking on My Computer icon and choosing Properties or by opening System properties in Control Panel;

    - Go to Advanced tab;

    - Press Startup and Recover Settings button;

    - Choose Small memory dump in Write debugging information box;

    - Close all the dialog windows by clicking OK buttons.

    - Reproduce the system crash and collect the mini-dumps created;

    Please use the free trial version of Acronis True Image 9.0 to perform actions described above.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  7. Monte-Cristo

    Monte-Cristo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Montreal (Quebec)
    Hi,

    Thanks for your help. There was indeed two errors on the Maxtor external drive. Chkdsk corrected them. Then I tried downloading Acronis drivers. I couldn't find them. Where are they, by the way ?

    So then I tried to do an image of my HD, and it completed succesfully.

    So, after that, I was tempted to buy the Company, but I settled for version 9.0. :)

    Now I have a serial number, but where do I insert it on the try version ?

    Thanks.
     
  8. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    I'm afraid you can't. You need to uninstall the free trial version then download and install the full retail version. Your new serial number is then entered during the install. Remember to also create a new bootable rescue CD from the full version.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.