I have a serious problem...

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by advanced, Mar 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. advanced

    advanced Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Posts:
    44
    Location:
    Englewood, FL
    I'm running Win 98 se on a PII machine...
    I had installed a licensed version of TDS-3.
    I began to have some problems and never resolved them and unistalled the program.

    This was a LONG time back... and yet suddenly now all my icons are associated with tds-3, when I click on a shortcut I get a dialog box stating TDS-3 is needed to open this type of file "x".
    I have searched thru Ini files, registry, etc and removed all detectable instances of tds-3.exe, Diamond Defense, and STILL the machine thinks I need tds-3.
    Where else can I look?
    I can't even start tweakui to repair associations :>(
    If you have any ideas,
    please help!
    tIA,
    Tom
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Tom have a look at your file associations, possibly .ico is associated with TDS.

    HTH Pilli
     
  3. advanced

    advanced Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Posts:
    44
    Location:
    Englewood, FL
    Hi,
    Thanks for the quick reply!
    It ain't so easy...
    Even in safe mode, just right clicking on the desktop, then properties draw the dreaded
    "windows cannot find tds-3
    this program is needed for opening of type "*"

    location of tds-3 and a browse button!"

    How can I change associations when I can't access "properties"?
    TIA,
    Tom
     
  4. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi there,
    Maybe it does help to re-install TDS in the same place where it was before, check all the file associations and if you want uninstall it properly.
    Before you uninstall check the menu option to have exec protection uninstalled. Also after uninstalling TDS you better reboot. Use TDS's own uninstaller. If that is not working OK use the one in add/remove.
    If still trouble check again if every association has gone in the registry.
    During install/uninstall you might like to close special registry protection if you have those installed to make sure the (un)installation goes all properly.
    Hope this helps.


    EDIT: make sure also during (un)install all scanners and their resident protection are closed just to make sure.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2005
  5. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Try reinstalling and then uninstall Execution Protection

    TDS menu > Execution Protection > Remove

    Even if it says not installed, try this.. hopefully this will solve it much quicker than messing around with the registry
     
  6. advanced

    advanced Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Posts:
    44
    Location:
    Englewood, FL
    If I can get it running again, I will try install/uninstall.
    I tried to reload Windoze over the exisiting system last nit, w/out success.
    Tonight I'll have another go.
    TIA,
    Tom
     
  7. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
  8. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hm i'm not happy with reinstalling windows over itself on a win98 system.
    Maybe restoring an older registry copy would help if DVK's file would not help enough.
    We ever had a thread about scanreg /restore which really saved my computer sometime when even the kind of associations solution DVK just offered didn't even help anymore.
    http://www.diamondcs.com.au/forum/showthread.php?p=19260&highlight=scanreg#post19260
    Win98 users should really install that tool just in case.
     
  9. advanced

    advanced Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Posts:
    44
    Location:
    Englewood, FL
    Thanks for the replies...
    I will try all of the above when I return home!
    Thanks again, and I'll post the outcome later.
    Tom
     
  10. advanced

    advanced Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Posts:
    44
    Location:
    Englewood, FL
    WAS: I have a serious problem... all better now!

    I ran scanreg and loaded an earlier set of registryfiles and so far, so good.

    Thanks for the link to the association file... what extensions were/are common to (used by) TDS-3.exe?

    Thanks again,
    Tom
     
  11. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Did the scanreg restore and associations exe not solve the whole problem?
    That associations part i have to leave for DVK.

    Does re-installing TDS-3 now give the proper working system as hoped for?
     
  12. advanced

    advanced Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Posts:
    44
    Location:
    Englewood, FL
    Jooske,
    I didn't re-install, and yes the scanreg /associations seems to have done the trick!
    There were a few things "lost" with the older system files, but nothing that cannot be fixed.
    Thanks again for all the helpful suggestions.
    Tom
     
  13. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Glad it helped! Make sure you have that scanreg tool set for several days, 10 or more, the system will scan and make new copies daily by itself.
    If necessary with SFC you can get back original system files from the install-cd-rom and the required system files to run TDS properly can be found at the TDS-site. Files might get lost occasionally or are overwritten with other installs, etc. So check if the required files are at least the versions from the site or newer ones.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.