I Got Deal On McAfee 2007

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Graystoke, Nov 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    I received an e-mail from McAfee today. My McAfee VS 10, which I have completely forgotten I had, has expired and they are offering me McAfee 2007 3-in-1 for $19.99. It's a good deal, but I want to get some user opinions on McAfee 2007 before I go ahead and purchase it. Like it/dislike it, love it/hate it? Any problems with with your computer while running it? Only interested in opinions on McAfee 2007.

    Thanks.
     
  2. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
  3. Atomic_Ed

    Atomic_Ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    I have both the 3in1 and the 2007 suite and am happy with both of them. I purchased the 3in1 at Walmart for $19.99 but it is a 3 user license version which I felt was a really good deal. On the Suite, I got that at BestBuy on sale for $29.99 and thought it a good deal as well.
     
  4. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    I usually don't pay too much attention to C/Net's reviews. The user reviews is another story. It doesn't look too good.

    Thanks Atomic_Ed.

    I know McAfee isn't liked too well here, but I'll wait for some more posts.
     
  5. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802

    Unless the problem described below has been fixed, I would not touch McAfee.

    http://forums.mcafeehelp.com/viewtopic.php?t=92391
     
  6. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
    I have to admit that I bought McAfee 3 in 1 some weeks ago (not joking), even if I do not need it, but the price here was also very low (20Euro) and for an Antivirus+Antispyware+Firewall it is a good deal. When I tried it I think I did not install the Firewall.
     
  7. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    I checked at the McAfee forum under VS 11 Problems Solved, and didn't see anything about automatic deletion of files listed. So I guess that issue has not been dealt with. I don't like the idea of an AV automatically deleting something without me checking it out first. I think I'll pass on the deal.

    Thanks Howard.
     
  8. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Good.
    If enough folkes pass, and McAfee gets the message, perhaps they will fix this design flaw.

    I have a multiboot system, so it can be expensive updating AV on each system every year.

    I had an NAV x expiring in Feb 2006, and I noticed a 3 user McAfee VS 10 for $0 AFTER rebates.

    So I figured I'd give it a try.

    I found two issues:

    1. You can use Firefox as your default browser, e.g., see http://forums.mcafeehelp.com/viewtopic.php?t=76180&view=previous&sid=9928a331836af6a9d346e04707caeddb
    and
    http://forums.mcafeehelp.com/viewtopic.php?t=71842&highlight=. This was not being communicated properly, even tgho McAfee itself has a download that permits Firefox to be used as the default browser.

    2. I am one of those fokes who actually reads documentation. So when I saw the statements about automatic cleaning in the user's guide, I was shocked. I posted in various threads, including http://forums.mcafeehelp.com/viewtopic.php?t=71855.
    A number of folkes confirmed that automatic cleaning did SOMETIMES silently delete things.

    I then posted in the vS 11 forum, but get no satisfactory response, see, http://forums.mcafeehelp.com/viewtopic.php?t=92391.

    I do not recall seeing anything stating that the automatic cleaning behavior has changed.

    So, I've never dared to do a full scan with McAfee VS 10, and I certainly will not get 11 without documentation that this issue has gone away.

    NAV has done this right for years. Does not McAfee even look at what the competition is doing?

    [FlameON=True]
    I consider it IRRESPONSIBLE of ANY magazize article, or AV comparison site, to not mention such flaws.

    Whilst, one may get lucky, and never be affected by such silent deletion, if one is affected, it sure can be a pain in the back rank (using polite chess terminolgy) to recover from such a situation.
    [FlameOn=False]
     
  9. Atomic_Ed

    Atomic_Ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    I am currently running the new Mcafee products and have not had them very long yet but while checking thorugh the program interface I could not find anything relative to changing the behaviour of handling infected files, I did see that their is a nice log section as well as a quarantine area with a restore files option. I think so far I have only run 2 full manual scans on my system with it but it did detect my Radmin program as a threat. When it did it clearly popped up asking me what to do with the file. Of course I chose ignore because I know it is a legit program and not a virus or anything. It did not just silently delete it or anything like that.

    Also here is the info about restoring deleted files right from the v 11 help file:

    Restore quarantined programs, cookies, and files
    If required, you can restore programs, cookies, and files that are quarantined.

    To restore quarantined programs, cookies, and files:

    On the Advanced Menu, click Restore.
    On the Restore pane, click Programs and Cookies or Files, as appropriate.
    Select the quarantined programs, cookies, or files you want to restore.
    For more information about the virus that is quarantined, click its detection name under Details. The Virus Information Library appears with the virus description.
    Under I want to, click Restore.


    Hope this info is of any value to you.
     
  10. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    Thanks Atomic_Ed for that information. Good to know that.
     
  11. Atomic_Ed

    Atomic_Ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    No problem. I hope it is useful for some people. Seems like Mcafee would be a little more clear in their documentation so people with questions such as this can more easily understand what the program can or can not do. I think it would be to their benefit to do so.

    Anyhow, I see for some reason their are not alot of Mcafee fans on the boards here. All in all it really seems to be a decent product, especially for the price and it's detection rates are definately not bad or anything. I have run previous versions before and never had any problems. There was one version I think 8 or 9, where they did not include any log for activity which I did not like at all because you could never go back and see what was detected or if it was cleaned once someone had answered the popup upon the original detection which is what my wife would do. I would then later want to check out her system and ask what it said, she would tell me something about a threat or something. I then thought well lets see the logs only to realize there wasn't any. That was really my only complaint and this new version has all the log sections and seems to run alot nicer and is definately an improvement in looks of the SC.
     
  12. donsan

    donsan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    grand prairie tx
    What ever you do if you go with McAfee stay away from wifi protection i made the mistake of installing that crap and was two days on the phone with linksys and apple support trying to get a connection back.I liked the anti virus protection but would be better if they would update the program on weekends.
     
  13. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    In version 10, automatic cleaning did not always delete a file without warning, but there was no option to prent ANY deletion.

    I would not recommmend using a product that might silently delete, it
    is just too risky due to false positives, and all AV software suffers from the risk of false positives.
     
  14. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    Huge hog..u will wait 20min on starting a pc! :mad:
     
  15. Atomic_Ed

    Atomic_Ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    What 20 minutes to boot a pc? I don't see that with my system. In fact even though my mcafee suite uses alot more ram then my NIS 2007 did, it definately boots up faster with the Mcafee then the NIS did. Web surfing is alot noticeably speedier with the Mcafee suite on my system. Of course this is a new machine with modern hardware so maybe on an older or lower end computer it may have a performance impact.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.