I couldn't upload picture attachments...

Discussion in 'General Topics' started by sweater, Feb 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    I want to upload some pictures for attachment but it couldn't be done, it just says that its already full. How can I delete old picture attachments in my past posts so that I can upload attachments in my new posts if I want to? :rolleyes: o_O
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    Sweater

    What is the exact message you get when you try to upload an attachment?
     
  3. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Even tho you have deleted the post....I believe what the message was saying was that you had already uploaded that attachment file name ?

     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Just change the file name if you want to use the same pictures!!
     
  5. beetlejuice

    beetlejuice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    8,523
    I don't think that will work because I've tried that on numorous occasions. Seems like the forum recognizes whether you've used the actual picture.
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    Resize the picture and give it a new name.
     
  7. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,874
    Location:
    New England
    There is a checksum routine involved in the verification of duplicate files. It may only be effective for some filetypes, but I'm not sure. The other common error is having the file uploaded in one browser window, but having not yet made the post. Then when you try to Manage Attachments again in another window, and upload the same file you get an error saying "Attachment in Progress". See this thread about that:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=62504

    Yes, that would do it since that would change the file and therefore it's checksum.
     
  8. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    I couldn't remember exactly the message...:rolleyes: but it says something like I have already reach the quotas of attaching pictures and then it shows the lists of the pictures I have attach on my past posts. :doubt: Are there a quotas in attaching pictures in this forum?

    Anyway, I have just tried it again to upload and attach picture and I was surprised... I have succeeded in attaching my pictures on the posts. :D :eek:

    Well, maybe, the possibilities of errors...sometimes it happens. Thanks for the quick reply. ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.