I can't find my E Drive!

Discussion in 'hardware' started by twodogs44, Jul 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. twodogs44

    twodogs44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    I have an external hard drive installed to use as my backup. Yesterday I downloaded the Paragon Pro 9 from the "Give away of the day" and installed it , no problem. I then reformatted my E drive to backup everything on my C drive. I had all kinds of problems doing the backup. So I got rid of the Paragon Pro 9 and went back to my old Paragon Personal Version to Re-download my C drive to the E drive and I can't find my E drive anywhere.

    HELP!

    Dave.........Thanks ahead of time for those offering help.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    what kind of problems, any error messages? if you connect the drive to some other machine is it detected?
     
  3. twodogs44

    twodogs44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    I have not tried that one yet as I only have the one machine. I don't think it is the external drive, but it's the matter of not finding the drive. I will try it later.

    TY
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Can you see the external HD in Disk Management? Without a drive letter?
     
  5. twodogs44

    twodogs44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    How do I do that?
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Right click My Computer, Manage, Disk Management. You might simply have to assign a drive letter but let us know what you find.
     
  7. twodogs44

    twodogs44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    I shows that I have a C:\ and a D:\ the E:\ is not there. I did not see anyway of putting it in or I would have.
    Thanks, Dave
     
  8. twodogs44

    twodogs44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    Hey Brian K, I went back to the Disk Management and toyed with it a bit again nothing, so I unplugged the cable going from the PC to the Backup drive E: and it then popped up and yes it does show on the My Commputer.
    Thanks Man!
     
  9. tipstir

    tipstir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    SFL, USA
    USB or firewire or SATI/II or eSAT? If you have USB issues all you have to do it unplug the unit. The go into System Device Manager for USB Controllers and uninstall all of them. Then reboot the OS. When you re-log on back to the OS Windows will rebuild USB Controller drivers which would solve your problems.
     
  10. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    That's an interesting tip - I'll keep it in mind for future reference. When I look at my device manager under USB controllers, I see several USB Universal Host Controllers and several USB Hubs. WOuld I uninstall both controllers and hubs or just controllers?
     
  11. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Just uninstalling the Root Hubs should be sufficient.

    Another tip(ster). :D Try to always use the same device in the same port. Windows has an annoying habit of installing drivers for the same device every time it is plugged into a different USB port.

    This does seem too eventually cause problems, as you found out.
     
  12. twodogs44

    twodogs44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    Hey everyone, I want say thanks to all of you for assisting me and getting out of the fog!
    I do have to agree that Windows has several things that will annoy the dickens out of you....at times!

    Dave
     
  13. tipstir

    tipstir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    SFL, USA
    Yes all of them. That's only way to fix issues with USB on Windows OS. If you have a HP all-in-one you would need to uninstall the drivers, software and the USB controllers drivers also. Note unplug the USB from the printer before you reboot the system..
     
  14. tipstir

    tipstir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    SFL, USA
    USB keyboards, USB mice that would be the only devices you would leave in after you uninstall the USB controllers and hubs. I just know from experience working in desktop/network support departments for 11 years. I also repair hardware printers (lasers/color) as well as laptops. I am very glad Microsoft keeps on making OS glitches keeps me in business. :)
     
  15. twodogs44

    twodogs44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    I think I am forced to say that your job is very safe. MS just creates programs and it is up to others to fix them where they work the way they were intended.
     
  16. tipstir

    tipstir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    SFL, USA
    Well yes what you say is very true. The way Microsoft thinks is like this, Every customer who buys our software are really beta testers but they don't know it!. This statement comes out of the mouth of one of their own MS VP at the time I had met in person. He had explained it to me.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.