I cannot update Acronis 10

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Hugh, Jul 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hugh

    Hugh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    I bought Acronis 10.0.4871 in January and I installed update 4940 with no problems. This week I did a clean install and downloaded update 4942 however now I cannot install either of these updates I am stuck on 4871 which was my original download. I have disabled all my security programs {Nod, window defender and firewall but it makes no difference they seem to go on OK but the issue number stays the same no change - please advice :'(
     
  2. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Un-install the old and re-install the new. Check the version number before installing to make sure you have the correct file.
     
  3. Hugh

    Hugh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    HI there thanks for replying - it is a bit of a puzzle I have tried un-installing the old one and re-installing the new - but it still has the old number on it even though I cleaned the registry out first - so I am stumped but cannot find anyone else with these issues :doubt:
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Did you also remove the c:\program files\acronis folders and the c:\program files\common files\acronis folders?
     
  5. Hugh

    Hugh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Hi yes I removed everything and cleaned registry

    The installation was interrupted before Acronis True Image Server could be installed. You need to restart the installer to try again.oved everything this is the message

    Looking back over the forum there was a similar issue with version 9 but too difficult for me to follow

    Hugh
     
  6. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Try clearing out your temp folder(s) and then retry the installation. This has worked for many people suffering the 'installation interrupted' problem.

    F.
     
  7. Hugh

    Hugh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Hi - ITook my laptop back to a very basic image - no office only network partition magic and Acronis and Nero. Cleaned up well removed temp files etc and it made no difference at all. It got so far and said no thank you.:mad:
    I did download a new file as well - maybe it does not like my Soni Vaio but the basic version 10 I originally downloaded goes on OK - or I would be in trouble - so there is something wrong with the updates :mad:
     
  8. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
  9. Hugh

    Hugh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks for that I will give it a go sounds quite frightening - I then persume install new Acronis
    Thanks
     
  10. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Yes, then install 10. Not often necessary but depending on what else is running on your PC, sometimes it is usefull to run msconfig.exe and on services tab, check the box for hide windows services and then click on Disable All, the click on the statrup tab, click on Disable all, then click okay to close msconfig and restart the PC. The PC will boot up with minimal programs running and little chance of any other program interfering with the install. After ATI is installed, run msconfig.exe again and on the services and startup tabs click on Enable all and click okay to close and restart.

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.