I accidently clicked the AOL anti spyware thing and it stated installing and now

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by cheater87, Mar 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,124
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Mcafee won't work. this sucks. how can i get it working again? i stopped the thing from installing but now mcafee won't work.
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,697
    Hello,
    More details please.
    Try system restore?
    Mrk
     
  3. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,124
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    now when i go on my name a popup comes up from mcafee saying that something did not install correctly so i can't use the scanner but i think the firewall is ok still i would like to fix this and don't know how to do a system restore
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Here you go Restore info but instead of creating a restore point just pick a restore point that was created before the problem started and click it and follow the onscreen instructions.
     
  5. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,124
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    ummm *scratches back of head* the only time we did that was when we first got it so ummmm there might be a bit of a problem heh heh *laughs nervesly*
     
  6. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,697
    Hello,
    Computer makes system points about once a day, without your intervention.
    Check what's the last latest available point. If you have system restore on, then you must have more than one - the first time.
    Mrk
     
  7. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,124
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    ok i'll do that later thanks for the help i hope everything is ok
     
  8. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,124
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    well i put it back to monday and it didn't work at all it said it did but the message came back up and i went to check the date and it was todays *sighs* we are going to call a computer guy to come over and fix it.
     
  9. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,124
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    someone fixed mcafee or it fixed itself

    i logged back on the laptop and its working again yay
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.