I accidently clicked the AOL anti spyware thing and it stated installing and now

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by cheater87, Mar 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,154
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Mcafee won't work. this sucks. how can i get it working again? i stopped the thing from installing but now mcafee won't work.
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,208
    Hello,
    More details please.
    Try system restore?
    Mrk
     
  3. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,154
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    now when i go on my name a popup comes up from mcafee saying that something did not install correctly so i can't use the scanner but i think the firewall is ok still i would like to fix this and don't know how to do a system restore
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,894
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Here you go Restore info but instead of creating a restore point just pick a restore point that was created before the problem started and click it and follow the onscreen instructions.
     
  5. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,154
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    ummm *scratches back of head* the only time we did that was when we first got it so ummmm there might be a bit of a problem heh heh *laughs nervesly*
     
  6. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,208
    Hello,
    Computer makes system points about once a day, without your intervention.
    Check what's the last latest available point. If you have system restore on, then you must have more than one - the first time.
    Mrk
     
  7. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,154
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    ok i'll do that later thanks for the help i hope everything is ok
     
  8. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,154
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    well i put it back to monday and it didn't work at all it said it did but the message came back up and i went to check the date and it was todays *sighs* we are going to call a computer guy to come over and fix it.
     
  9. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,154
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    someone fixed mcafee or it fixed itself

    i logged back on the laptop and its working again yay
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.