HTTPS Everywhere For Chrome - EFF Alpha

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Hungry Man, Feb 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
  2. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    617
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    Thanks for this, working fine on Comodo Dragon 17.3
     
  3. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    At last...I have been waiting for one for chrome.
     
  4. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I wonder how much longer before we see a full functioning TOR button for Chrome.
     
  5. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    330
    There is a conflict between AdblockPlus experimental and Https Everywhere. Wrench menu shows a little orange exclamation icon. And you can see the warning in extension section, below ABP.
     
  6. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I'm no longer on experimental, I wouldn't know.
     
  7. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I'd use it, but Ad Muncher doesn't filter encrypted connections (for now).
     
  8. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    330
    I have installed stable ABP. There is also a conflict with this!
     
  9. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    No conflict over here.
     
  10. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    330
    I found out the issue. It is about Fanboy's Annoyance and Antisocial filters. The conflict appears whenever one of them is enable!
     
  11. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Ah. I use Fanboy's Filter, Easy List, and Recommended for Chrome.
     
  12. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    330
    If you want to see little orange icon on wrench, add one of them. Don't miss this Chrome feature lol
     
  13. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I also experienced the same. But, it doesn't seem to happen all the time, though. o_O

    I also noticed that HTTPS Everywhere uses more than 21MB of memory in my system. It's a bit heavy... I hope they can optimize the use memory usage.

    The funny thing is that, the orange exclamation icon were suppose to reveal the offending extension, but it doesn't? Odd... It just says there's an offending extension, but doesn't mention which one.
     
  14. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Isn't that a beta feature? There's a new extension activity UI coming.

    21MB doesn't seem too heavy - it'll probably get trimmed, I think at this point it's just about getting it functioning.
     
  15. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    That's arguable. Maybe for people with great amounts of RAM it isn't; but, for those with a not so great amount of RAM, then it can be problematic. Let us not forget that an extension isn't the only thing making use of RAM in a system. ;)
     
  16. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Yeah, but you'd have to have a really really small amount of RAM. Like 1GB or less and at that point I feel like 21MB won't be making the difference.

    I'm all for optimization though, of course. But what matters most to me is page-load time and overall CPU usage.
     
  17. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    21MB won't make a difference in a system with 1GB or less of RAM? If you add 21MB here, 21MB there and so on and so forth... the poor system will start working like an old tractor... :argh: :D
     
  18. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Yeah, if you decide to micromanage your RAM usage across the entire OS, sure.

    I'm just saying that at most they'll cut it down by 5-10MB. I'd much rather see the extension itself just work faster.

    Extensions like ABP and HTTPS everywhere use Synchronous APIs as opposed to Asynchronous. This means that everything has to wait for them to finish.

    RAM really isn't that big a deal - getting things done fast is more important.

    But yeah, if they can save 5-10MB of RAM I'll take it.
     
  19. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    330
    It surpasses ABP. Don't you see the red warning below ABP in extensions menu?
     
  20. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I don't see a red warning. I only see an orange exclamation mark of the Wrench icon. When clicking on the Wrench icon, at the bottom there's a Misbehaving extension. Clicking on it only opens the extensions manager, but doesn't reveal which one is being problematic, though.

    I'm on Chromium, so it may work different from Google Chrome. Maybe the Misbehaving extension warning were suppose to reveal which one is conflicting, but it still doesn't. :doubt:
     
  21. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    330
    The reason behind it is ABP's Antisocial and Annoyance lists. I think https everwhere is quicker than ABP. It loads https version of social networks in pages and ABP can't block them! Something like that :ninja:
     
  22. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Interesting. The link provides says that...

    I actually thought that the stable version was 18.x, but it's 17.0.963.56. I instaleld HTTPS Everywhere to a relative using Google Chrome stable version and from what I could see if automatically forced Facebook to enter in https. Normally, it would go for the http version.

    So, I suppose it works OK in a non 18.x (a non-developer version, that is)?

    I'm wondering if future updates will kill entries we manually add to HTTPS Everywhere, by creating a XML file with our own entries, and then adding them to rule_list.js... :D

    There are a few services I'd like to add, which are not covered. I'm going to send them an e-mail, just in case. :D
     
  23. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    It works 17 and up.
     
  24. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    Could someone please check if this Chrome version of HTTPS Everywhere, allows going to malwarebytes.org.
    On FF 10.0.2, it just won't work. MBAM main site HTTP address can't be reached.
    By disabling the add-on, I can get to the main MBAM page.
    Same issue with Chrome?
     
  25. guest

    guest Guest

    OK, but do you really need to disable the add-on?

    Alternative solution from: https://www.eff.org/https-everywhere/faq
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.