HTTPS browsing is too slow

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by ohblu, Mar 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ohblu

    ohblu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Colorado
    I have been on some websites that force me to browse through https, which is incredibly slow for me (YMMV). I've had times where it took 30+ minutes just to load a web page because of this. It's not every encrypted website I have problems with, just a handful of them.

    I can understand web sites forcing encryption when sensitive financial or personal info is being transmitted. But I can't understand it when all I want to do is check some prices without even being logged in. It makes no sense.

    Is there a way to get around this? Is there a setting within my browser I can change so I don't have to browse through an encrypted site? I mainly use Firefox and Opera, but also have Chrome and IE installed.
     
  2. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    HTTPS should not be slow. I have a modest 12MB/sec connection and use HTTPS fine. I even stream YouTube in HTTPS at HD 1080p. Either you have dial-up or something else is wrong with your connection. I even use HTTPS on my mobile phones internet connection and again its fine and that is a slow connection similar to dial-up.
     
  3. ohblu

    ohblu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Colorado
    I am on a slow connection, but I find it hard to believe that's what's causing the problem. Right now I am viewing my webmail through https and it's zooming right along. I'm also trying to view Wegmans.com (in https) and it's so slow that I've spent 45 minutes trying to load one page and I'm getting nowhere. Even if I stop all internet activity just so I can load Wegman's website, it's still takes 30+ minutes or so. And the Nintendo website is the only other website that is slow when viewing through https.

    So is there anyway to change browser settings so I don't have to view those two websites through https?
     
  4. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    If you use fire fox you can download https everywhere, and in the setting hit *Disable all* which should disable all https and or you can make rules for websites like nintendo where you don't want https.
     
  5. Techwiz

    Techwiz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Posts:
    539
    Location:
    United States
    Are the performance drops only on HTTPS sites?

    What I would suggest you look at:
    - application conflicts on your system.

    - firewall rules/policies. It's possible to create rules that hinder performance on some firewalls unintentionally. For example, your in the middle of skype call and comodo pops up a allow or block. In my haste, I've accidentally clicked block instead of allow. Try and think back. Have you done any recent changes? If not move on.

    - DNS server is experiencing problems. Try flushing your DNS, and experiment with a different service. I had this happen a couple times using google DNS, and ended up switching entirely to Comodo/Secure. When they go down completely, you get nothing. But sometimes I've had what seems like partial failures.

    - Firefox settings: Have you changed anything per advise from threads here or else where? A good example would be disabling caches, changing the proxy settings, etc. Maybe you have add-ons/plug-ins/extensions that are conflicting. It's possible one or a combination of things could be the problem.

    Failing all of that, I'd suggest you contact your internet service provider. Remember they are throttling service on networks now that visit torrent sites. Is is possible someone else in your household connected to your network could have triggered the new anti-privacy system?
     
  6. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
    Hi ohblu, maybe you could tell us what's your OS how much RAM do you have, what kind of security measures,
    stuff like that..;)

    Thanks..
    Hogndog
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.