HP CD-RW problem

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by unison, Feb 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. unison

    unison Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    Hello. Ok, my problem is that since my sister installed her webcam, the system doesn't always recorgnize the cd-rw device. I have already uninstalled the webcam thing, but the issue persists. I have opened the CPU to check if the device is properly plugged (and it is). Should I re-install the drivers? Please, help me as soon as you can, I have got to do some burning toinght! :'(
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    If you go to device manager and find your cd-rw device and right click on it and delete the device. Then reboot it will replace the default cd-rw drivers the computer shipped with.

    bigc
     
  3. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    If the problem still persists even after re-installing the original drivers, you may need to visit HP's website to update the original driver to the latest version.
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Thanks nadirah, I should have mentioned that. But I think he has to get it working and then update ;)

    bigc
     
  5. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Absolutely correct. :)
     
  6. unison

    unison Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    I thought about doing that, but I cannot see the cd-rw in the device manager! I cannot recognize it, at least... Could it be one of the IDE channels? The secondary one? o_O
     
  7. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Post a screenshot of Device Manager and I may be able to help you identify the cd-rw.
    It should be under DVD/CD-ROM Drives. Look at my screenshot here:
     

    Attached Files:

  8. unison

    unison Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    It's in spanish... would you understand it anyway?
     
  9. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Spanish? I only know the English and Chinese languages! I need a translation if your Device Manager is in a language which I do not know.
     
  10. unison

    unison Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    oh, god... I have the screen shot already... how can I post it? :oops:


    I have no DVD/CD-ROM Drives showing, that's why I am confused...
     
  11. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Mine is here, circled in red. It has to be there or it wouldn't work at all.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Hi unison,

    Does BIOS see your drive? Is the webcam still plugged in?

    Nick
     
  13. unison

    unison Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    hahahahahaha, it's not there... that may be the reason why it's not working at all, right? it recognizes it, it works for a couple of minutes and then it's gone again... so I go the Add Hardware option in the Control Panel, and I add it, and it says that it's working perfectly! no way!!!!! and it gives me a pop-up saying that there is something with the DLA thing and that I need to reboot... but when I do so, it's the same thing.
     
  14. unison

    unison Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    no, the webcam is not plugged nor installed anymore
     
  15. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,742
    Location:
    Texas
    Try bigc's suggestion in post #2. Also, run scandisk.
     
  16. unison

    unison Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    how can I delete it when it's not even showing? when I reboot, nothing happens...
    how to run scandisk?



    (thank you all for your help, I am adoring you!)
     
  17. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,742
    Location:
    Texas
    Start, all programs, accessories, systems tools, system information, componets, cd rom. Any info there?

    Right click on my computer or c: drive, properties, tools, error checking, check now, and check the top box only and restart your computer for scandisk.
     
  18. unison

    unison Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    no info for cd-rom and I cannot find the path you gave me for the scandisk (there is no tools tab under properties... :oops: )
     
  19. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    What is the brand of the webcam? Is it made by Logitech?
    Right now I don't think its the problem with the cd-rw's drivers, but the webcam must be the culprit.
    Some of Logitech's webcams and some other products come bundled with spyware.
    Anyway, I would like to know which Operating System are you running on?
    Windows XP?
    To check your HDD for errors, go to My Computer-->right-click on your HDD-->Properties-->Tools-->Error-checking-->Check now.
     
  20. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    o_O No tools tab under properties!?
     
  21. unison

    unison Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    the webcam is Almatek and I have uninstalled it and unplugged it
    let me run the scandisk, let's see...
     
  22. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    ok. do it.
     
  23. unison

    unison Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    should I check those two options that I have in the same window where I should click 'start'?


    (found the tools thing ;))
     
  24. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Yes.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    unison, are you done with the error checking? I'm waiting for your reply...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.