How will you know WSA is "rolling back"?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by STV0726, Mar 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    I believe the "roll back" removal process is tied to both the default heuristics, and the option in settings, "Advanced journalling of monitored files" or something like that.

    But how will the end user know it is rolling back? Will it say something different during the cleanup wizard thing (the thing that tells you steps before proceeding)?

    I'm just curious. :)

    EDIT: Also, if you manually place a file in monitor mode then decide to block it or do a manual malware removal, does the roll back effect happen still even tho you manually flagged it?
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It happens automatically and silently. You won't see what it's doing besides that it's removing the infections, but yes, if you manually add a file to cleanup, it will be rolled back as well.
     
  3. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    Awesome.

    I assume rollback only is possible for monitored programs?
     
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Yes, which, by definition, will include any possibly missed malware as any program which isn't trusted (whitelisted) will be set to Monitor.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.