How to use Wolfram Alpha knowledge engine

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Mar 1, 2015.

  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,790
    Location:
    Texas
    http://www.thewindowsclub.com/how-to-use-wolfram-alpha
     
  2. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I have found this incredibly useful for years. I have it bookmarked.
     
  3. Yuki2718

    Yuki2718 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,257
    It's veeeery useful. I have been using it since when it was beta stage.
    It is based on Mathematica which all math & physics student know well but super expensive (tho there's free alternative called Maxima).
    Just as a warning, you shouldn't use it to solve your math homework!:D
     
  4. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,101
    Why have it bookmarked, when you can just add WolframAlpha to your browser's Search engine capability?

    How you might ask?

    1) Visit the Mycroft Project (yet another Search engine to add to your Search Engine capability) at: http://mycroftproject.com/

    2) At the top of the webpage Search bar entitled: Find Search Engine Plugins / Search Providers
    type in WolframAlpha to find a Search Plugin for WolframAlpha (I already have it in my search engine list)!

    3) Select which Search plugin you want to add or both by clicking on the link: (Wolfram|Alpha or Wolfram|Alpha SSL) and then click the Add button to add it the the list of Search engines selectable by your browser's default Search window.

    4) Do the same procedure for the "Mycroft Project" search engine and the next search engine plugin you wish to add you don't have to visit the Mycroft Project webpage to use it's search engine to add a new search engine plugin to your list of search engines - you can just select it in a New Tab and initiate the search for a new website's search engine plugin (if and only if it exists) from you web browser's search engine.

    Note: I have about 50 search engines in my browser's search engine list.

    -- Tom
     
  5. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Come to think about it Tom, I think I have used the Mycroft Project plug-in in the past (particularly on SeaMonkey). Thanks for reminding me though. Of course, Vivaldi has Wolfram Alpha already. ;)

    wolfram1.jpg
     
Loading...