how to update another entry in grub 2

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by mack_guy911, Nov 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    sorry for asking this silly question i still use grub one not have grip of grub 2

    how to add/update another entry in grub 2

    what i mean is let say i install ubuntu .............. and its bootloder to mbr after then i install linux mint and add its boot entry in its own partition

    now when i reboot and start from ubuntu how can i add linux mint entry in grub 2 .............

    also is their any gui for grub 2
     
  2. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
  3. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    When I still had Maverick on second hard drive, I simply added an entry to
    the 40_custom file.

    40_custom.jpg

    and then sudo update-grub

    That way kernel updates will always be OK. (nothing to do) :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2011
  4. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    like cet was looking i am able to resize home partition successfully and install linux mint 12 in it i done that in vmware all work like charm the only problem is i dont know how to update entry so i can add mint as well

    now second problem is i installed burg it look cute but now its not working i get error

    grub>



    guess i need to reinstall grub as well

    what procedure of install grub from live cd


    thanks in advance ocky

    i guess now time come to get some grip on grub 2 as well LOOL
     
  5. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    You want to install grub to mbr of Ubuntu and Mint to partition boot sector i.e. you want Ubuntu to control the booting ?
    If so you can add a symlink to the 40_custom file (in Ubuntu) for Mint as shown in my previous post. Use blkid to get the UUID.

    if you can get into Ubuntu you don't need to reinstall grub from live cd.
    Just issue the command sudo grub-install /dev/sda
    and then sudo update-grub

    I hope I have understood what you want to do.
     
  6. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    I am following this post.
    this is what I have been looking for.Could you make it work?
     
  7. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    alright i make dualboot work :D

    in easy way and for every newbie it will work

    1st way of doing it.

    what i did is 1st install ubuntu + home partition then i squeeze(resize) home partition with the help of gparted ......apply......... after that i install mint or kubuntu .........................what ever you want to install and install its grub 2 in mbr so it add ubuntu as well and no grub problem as they are pretty same kubuntu/mint grub 2 update ubuntu grub 2 and you get everything working by default


    best easy way so far i found :D

    things i like to add

    1. backup all your data before going for 2nd install 99% it work without problem but 1% if dont then you dont loose your important data

    2. Remember that partition clone clonezilla .....etc ....dont work here because you reduce the partition size if you increase they work but reducing size they dont

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=302812

    3. you have to install grub of 2nd distro mint/kubuntu .........etc in mbr it update ubuntu grub that easy way

    *********************************************************************************************************

    2nd way of doing it keeping ubuntu original grub

    so far everything work the only problem i face is i want to keep ubuntu grub 2 and install second distro grub 2 into its own partition

    ie i install ubuntu and grub in mbr after that i install kubuntu on sda6 and install grub in its own partition inside sda6 now when i boot form ubuntu it did not recognized kubuntu so i need to update/edit ubuntu grub 2 ...........so that it add kubuntu entires in it

    what i dont know i am still learning it

    should i go for os proble manual edit

    help would be really appreciated if some give me add entry or some light in easy way.......

    as my brain stop/hang working due to cold-cough and antibiotics ............. right now i feel nothing more than virus infected windows OS with antivirus installed :D
     
  8. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    mack_guy, my way is really easy. I am using Ubuntu 10.04 on 1st. hard drive to boot
    Kubuntu 11.10 (with grub installed to /) and Scientific Linux 6.1 (with grub legacy installed to /) both residing on second hard drive.
    All you need to do is add the entry to the 40_custom file in /etc/grub.d as explained before.
    In addition also disable osprober in Ubuntu. To do this go to /etc/default and edit the grub file by adding GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER=true as shown here:-

    # If you change this file, run 'update-grub' afterwards to update
    # /boot/grub/grub.cfg.

    GRUB_DEFAULT=0
    #GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=0
    GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET=true
    GRUB_TIMEOUT=10
    GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=`lsb_release -i -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""
    GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER=true
    # Uncomment to disable graphical terminal (grub-pc only)
    #GRUB_TERMINAL=console

    <Snip>

    After that I do sudo grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

    My 40_custom file looks like this:

    grub.d.png

    Just replace UUID with the correct UUID for sda6 and replace (hd1,1) with (hd0,6)
    You see if you use osprober instead of my way and you get a kernel update on the second distro where you have installed grub to / the new kernel will not show in your
    grub menu and you will need to do a sudo update-grub from within Ubuntu.
    My custom entry will always boot into the latest kernel. :cool:
     
  9. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    thanks ocky for that i'll try

    my way is pretty old fashion but straight forward

    i installed old grub (grub 1) scientific linux i mannualy add entry of new kernel everything in menulist :D
     
  10. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    By the way, cet doesn't have to worry about doing the above as she will only have
    Windows XP and one Linux OS (Kubuntu ?), with Kubuntu's grub2 installed to mbr (/dev/sda) to get it to call on the Windows bootloader.
     
  11. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    she wants tripple boot

    windows ubuntu and kubuntu :D
     
  12. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
  13. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    they didnt allow me to upload more than 15 min on youtube LOL

    and i am still learning how to edit .OGV file many editors dont support it


    so i created new install this time ubuntu 11.10 and mint 12 its same so you can do that in kubuntu as well

    i use mint cd because to save time as it got gparted installed with in it if you use kubuntu or any other please 1st use ubuntu live cd any and use gparted resize partiton and creating free space and then use kubuntu cd to install :rolleyes:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bTtciM6vnBQ
     
  14. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Nice mack_guy ! If there is a kernel update to Mint you will have to sudo update-grub from
    within Ubuntu in order to boot into the new kernel. Using the custom symlink entry as I
    mentioned, you don't have to do that, you will always boot into the new kernel.*
    I think by now most of cet's ~/ consists of mack_guy tutorials. :D

    *Plus your grub boot menu will be neater - only one entry for symlink (or chainload) boot.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2011
  15. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    WinFF will convert ogv to many formats. It should be in the repos. You can adjust quality/size/frame rate etc.

    Eg. Just tried ogv to flv and mpg ..

    winFF.png
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2011
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.