How to test Worm Guard? Pls lead me to baddie

Discussion in 'WormGuard' started by Eliot, Mar 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    I need to find a "baddie" according to WG. I want to see it work, lol. I have gotten all my DCS programs to "flag" a known baddie. WG is my latest and would love to see it work. The test button is well, obviously saying I am protected. Kinda like seeing the RED in NOD32 for the first time. Anyone have a link? Thanks alot for your time in this matter. Eliot
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Hi Eliot :)

    Take a look at this link,

    http://forum.gladiator-antivirus.com/index.php?s=8126cbe819841a7b505c9f9c93cfa1f3&showtopic=4920



    snowbound
     
  3. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Thanks snowbound. I am not getting any alerts with either test.vbs or test.vbs.txt from WG. I hope that I am just doing something wrong. I have read the post several times and I am pretty sure I am following the instructions correctly. o_O


    :rolleyes: 'doh I got it. Thanks again snowbound. Have a karma cookie :D
     
  4. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Had a nice couple of files i can not give but the one is a word document with macros and the other an excel document ful with macros and filters and some text parts like "person got badly infected with a virus" and such so all reasons to beep! Oh and all are multi extensions so for that it is warnign already in the first place.
     
  5. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    oops
    :D
     
  6. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    So you can try to create some nice things if you like. A copy of the excel doc where macros and more things seem to be removed does not get any beep at all, isn't that a pity?
    when you have such a doc at least WG enables you to look in the safe mode in the source so you know what it is and what it is beeping for!
     
  7. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    That is really cool. I had a friend that was infected with an older worm and he had NOD32 updated. I just figured I would add another layer of defense on here in light of that. I got to see the alert. Thanks alot *puppy*
     
  8. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    I do believe in layered protection :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.