How to stop split

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by amaraa, Jul 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. amaraa

    amaraa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Hi all,

    I'm using Acronis True Image Agent and Acronis Backup server. When i using acronis true image backup backup is renamed like CAFC83DB-25A0-408E-8C42-00083190EA8E this and image splited to 2GB. Image is stored on Acronis backup server and disk is formated NTFS.

    Please any one help me
    Any reply would be appriciated.

    Thank you
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello amaraa,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Corporate Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please be aware that Acronis Backup Server manages backups via database approach, so archives are split and named automatically to fit database structure.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  3. metty

    metty Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    We had the same problem. Splitting and renaming the Files within the Backup Server is an show stopper for using the backup server.

    - You don't have any possibility to join those splitted files
    - No backup-functionality for the database.

    If the db crash's and you'll have one (no splitted) backupfile you could rename it to server.tib and restore it. But splitted files ar only datacrap if the database get lost...
     
  4. Stache

    Stache Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    It sounds like you are saying that ALL the backups are stored within the Acronis Database.

    I have been using Server for windows and have been considering looking at Enterprise Server.

    That statement makes me concerned.

    The Enterprise Manual states:

    "an FTP-server must allow passive mode for file transfers. Data recovery directly from FTP-server requires the archive to consist of files no more than 2GB in size."

    And in section 6.3.8....
    "When backing up to the hard disk: The program will create a single archive file if the selected disk has enough space and its file system allows the estimated file size."

    Marat would you please clarify your statement.

    Thanks.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Stache,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Remote Server Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please notice that only archives stored with Acronis Backup Server component are managed via database approach. Archives stored in other locations are simple .tib files. You can find detailed information on Acronis Backup Server component in chapters 3.5 "Acronis Backup Server" and 4.5 "Managing backup server" of Acronis True Image Echo Enterprise Server User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.