How to stop Comodo FW 10 from placing a shortcut on desktop?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by imdb, Apr 8, 2017.

  1. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,585
    Howdy folks
    Comodo FW 10 keeps placing a shortcut on my desktop.How do i stop that?
    Tia
     
  2. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    704
    Location:
    Italy
    you have to wait for the next release
     
  3. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    704
    Location:
    Italy
    it's pretty clear that comodo is pushing on ccav rather than on cis.
    they have just released a new version after more than 3 months for compatibility with win10 cu, but it seems that it's not fully compatible and it comes with a lot of other bugs.
    that's why i have switched to ccav with tinywall
     
  4. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm not to happy about that either! It's in the SysTray, it's in the Start Menu, I don't need it also on the desktop. I should be-able to personalize my desktop to however I like, and CPF shortcut should remain deleted. :mad:
     
  5. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    I guess this is a bug on windows 10 only?
     
  6. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    Comodo bug yes. Uncertain if it's specific to Windows 10.

    However, Comodo keeps re-creating the shortcut. The latest hotfix package that was released yesterday, still with the issue.
     
  7. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    I use it on windows 7 and the shortcuts not recreated.Is there some sort of desktop protection on windows 10?.If not must be a bug.
     
  8. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Swiss
    Same here, just wait till it gets fixed.
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,132
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    In the mean time I just made the short cut hidden via right click > properties.
    No big deal.
     
  10. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    To the average, It's no big deal.

    I'm with hidden items checked in Windows. What this means is, making that Comodo shortcut hidden is a futile attempt. However at least It adds transparency so It's not so bold and eye-catching.

    The big deal about it is the principle of this. I should be-able to customize my desktop to however I prefer to have it. I already have more than enough desktop shortcuts. They exists because I prefer them to, and now have to see this fixed Comodo desktop shortcut, real aggressive bold move on Comodos part. Almost like a promotional move than anything else.

    If I delete the Comodo desktop shortcut, it shortly becomes recreated. If I move the Comodo shortcut into a folder, the shortcut shortly gets recreated back onto the main desktop again.

    Comodo can be accessed via systray, and I have always accessed it this way. Comodo shortcut is also found in the Start Menu.
     
  11. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    Further to my post 7 ,Ive just noticed that on my windows 7 ,the shortcut does indeed get recreated when deleted ,under 2 conditions.
    1.if gui is opened and i change from basic to advanced or vice versa ,the shortcut magically appears.Clicking/unclicking advanced view from system tray icon also creates desktop shortcut
    2.If settings is opened in gui and OK is clicked the shortcut also appears.If you just exit or cancel then it doesn't reappear
    I havent been able to recreate the shortcut clicking anything else in the gui.
    Not much help ,but some might find it interesting :isay:
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2017
  12. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    976
    W7 and it every time i make a change it places a shortcut..
     
  13. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    976
    And sandbox is now called containment..
     
  14. dakkarino

    dakkarino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Turku
    Confirmed the same behavious in Windows 7 Ultimate 64: the shortcut is created everytime you modify the options and/or click OK. The shortcut was not created when exited the option by directly closing the dialog. With the newest update nothing has changed yet. I have the feeling the shortcut is being created even in different situations but I am not sure yet.
     
  15. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,123
    I use ExpressVPN ondemand. When I connect ExpressVPN then too shortcut is created........
     
  16. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,967
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen

    Yes, last version is widely bugged. I came back to previous version, 10.00.6092, that works.
     
  17. l_a_l_a

    l_a_l_a Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Serbia, Novi Sad
    Right click, properties and just change attributes, of shortcut, to hidden.
     
  18. dakkarino

    dakkarino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Turku
    Hiding a problem does not make it disappear.
     
  19. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Swiss
    I haven't checked the Comodo forums for a while, are they even aware of this? This isn't really an Comodo problem it's due MS changes and affects not only their products. So someone should open a ticket and report this so that we get an update to resolve this.
     
  20. dakkarino

    dakkarino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Turku

    They are well aware of the problem:

    https://forums.comodo.com/bug-repor...-t118737.0.html;msg854627;topicseen#msg854627

    Unfortunately, they still have to fix it.
     
  21. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    @l_a_l_a: Already have been suggested here. It is also futile for everyone who has hidden items shown.

    @CHEFKOCH: Has nothing to-do with Windows 10, nothing to-do with Microsoft changes to any Windows. It has to-do with Comodo product update and a Comodo product poorly thought-out defense, which they'll refer to it as a bug.
     
  22. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Swiss
    I'm not sure about that this isn't a windows issue because after latest patchday several application acting the same, and someone else here also confirmed this.

    To be honest I haven't done any effort to figure this out, since this is not that important (in my eyes). But of course you could be right .. :doubt:
     
  23. lboucher

    lboucher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    France
    Yeah ! :cool:

    Comodo Firewall 10.0.1.6223

    https://forums.comodo.com/news-anno...et-security-v10016223-released-t119194.0.html

    1 - Comodo Security Agent could not be started
    2 - Comodo Application shortcuts could not be deleted, renamed or moved.
    3 - IP4 and IP6 entry names could be distorted.
    4 - Some of Windows XP PCs could not download updates.
    5 - Cygwin fails at post-install scripts and apps like Dash, Bash become unresponsive / consume abnormal CPU usage.
    6 - In Containment settings, checkbox 'Do not show privilege elevation alert' was selected after clean install, it should have been de-selected by default.
    7 - Some users reported that Windows firewall was disabled even though they installed Comodo Antivirus rather Comodo Firewall
    8 - File Lookup Service(FLS) could fail in some cases.
    9 - Trusted vendor list could see reduced list of entries for CIS versions older than v10 in last major update.
     
  24. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Swiss
  25. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,585
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.