How to start a service via bat?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by TairikuOkami, Nov 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I need a bat file or anything else one-click to start the service "Network Store Interface Service".

    I can easily stop it via a bat file, but it will not start using net start command.
    I am tired of going to services to set to it manual so I can start it afterwards.
    I need it sometimes for Windows Updates, browser updates, Hitman Pro scan.
     
  2. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    With that particular service, could it be that the services it depends on are not already running?

    Just a thought...

    philby
     
  3. sthmptn

    sthmptn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Posts:
    31
    What OS are you running?
    This works in win7 and below but I've only used win8 briefly and did have some trouble with my batch files - WinDefender and WinUpdate services, I think.

    # sc stop <service>
    # sc start <service>
     
  4. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Windows 8 Pro x64, I tried sc start command, it did not work either. It can probably stop it, because if it is running, system sees the name, but when it is stopped, it is gone.
    If the service is disabled and stopped, all dependent services can not start, that is why I disable only this one to disable the whole bunch.
     
  5. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    I didn't mean the services that depend on it but rather those it depends on itself - the RPC and DCOM services. Thought maybe you'd turned them off?
    I only mention this as a possibility because net start "Network Store Interface Service" works fine here on same OS.

    Capture.PNG
     
  6. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    A good tip, I have checked, all those are enabled, but I get this message, when trying to open dependencies.
    http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/2259/n6fz.jpg
    I have also realized, that I can not start it, if it is set to Disabled, but even if I set it to manual, it wont start and gives that error.
     
  7. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Given that you've Black Vipered Windows, maybe restoring the NSI service, and perhaps others, as per here might do the trick...?
    You could even restore all services to default, check your .bat works, and then carefully re-Viper Windows...
     
  8. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    You are right, I can not expect crippled Windows to work correctly. :)
     
  9. biased

    biased Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    As usually, snap mmc plug behave like some commander! That same is true of all, in typical.

    Means use mmc, start tha servise, it start the servise. Dependant not start too, but only it can. So, use bat file use run box and also use console, all the same effect, to start servise with dependent disabled is not happen, in any. To enable servise to be starting with all, must be on manual. Even mmc not start disabled, and some time not start manual (but doe in most case).

    Then leave you with command, which same. Start that "net start" and using laymen naming. Simple easy naming. Think "net start server" yes? Easy.

    But not always easy name, but can be more of actualy. Example, "net start server" right, but try servise control and not easy, only true naming!. Then you do "sc start lanmanserver" but "sc start server" has not correct to it use.

    So aware is always good yes? That understood to use simple name or true name, always must know. Can problem be of use? Find name, true name then see. Remember, name is not sam in all. Find it to see.

    You problems should not maybe be done, then other isshew. Start good and seeit helps. Yes. Good.
     
  10. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Did you get this sorted? Just curious...
     
  11. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Not really, no. I wasted more time looking for the solution than time I used for starting and stopping the service in the past, so I just let it go.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.