how to set up sandboxie??

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Hefaistos22, Oct 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hefaistos22

Hefaistos22 Registered Member

I am new to sandboxie, but i understand how it works. Can anyone submit some ideas to my, how to improve security of sandboxie? ie. restrictions.

Im using read only restricted access to directories like Program Files and Windows, but i would appreciate help with restrictions on registry:)

2. Hungry Man

Hungry Man Registered Member

Basically the way I set up sandboxie was to remove rights wherever possible until the program could no longer function. That's when I know it's as locked down as possible. Does the program need admin access? If not, remove its ability to elevate entirely. Does it need write access to an area? Only give it read access... or none at all.

3. Peter 123

Peter 123 Registered Member

@Hefaistos22:

You will already find here some threads dealing with the question how to set up Sandboxie. I think the most detailed thread is this one:

https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=240008
    ("Sandboxie Configuration Recommendations")

Maybe there you will find something about restrictions on registry too. (Personally I did not make such restrictions.)

4. Sully

Sully Registered Member

There are many ways, and as Peter pointed out, that thread is chock full of ideas.

I would say that many who use SBIE beyond the basic needs do something like this:

force program (like a browser)
    restrict what runs (only the browser.exe and a few choise tools, maybe .pdf viewer, etc)
    disallow what has network access (only allow browser.exe network)
    possibly make exceptions to:
    A. open direct access to things in sandbox save to real location (like bookmarks)
    B. restrict access of sandbox to real system (restrict directories/files/reg keys)