How to secure my computer?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ParaniaEstablished, Dec 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ParaniaEstablished

    ParaniaEstablished Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    I have a laptop that i want to secure completely seeing as my paranoia has been kicking in a lot lately. So here is what i have so far:
    1) 750GB hard drive, full encryption with truecrypt and a pretty long password (50char)
    2) Firefox beta with noscript and adblock
    3) MSE
    4) Peerblock with p2p and spyware lists enabled.
    5) stock everything else.
    Also this is a HP dv6-6153cl running the minimal install so if there are any concerns about that...
    Thanks for helping me :D
     
  2. ParaniaEstablished

    ParaniaEstablished Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    I just noticed i misspelled my name :(
    Can a mod fix it please? Thanks.
     
  3. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    and you're good to go........
     
  4. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    You can add these to your setup:
    - system backup software (a must)
    - Sandboxie, Defensewall or Geswall
    - some kind of hips (Malware defender - classical; Comodo with Defence+ or Online Armor - both HIPS + FW)
    - EMET
    - on demand scanners: HitmanPro, MBAM, ESET online scanner
    - anti keyloger

    I think that with this setup you will cover most security areas.
     
  5. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  6. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
  7. ParaniaEstablished

    ParaniaEstablished Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    FF stable is unstable on my comp.
    I havnt heard anything good about panda AV
    Norton DNS? What about openDNS instead? What are the logging capabilities of a DNS?
    What about a VPN?
    I have added MBAM and keyscrambler to my arsenal.
    Also here is a list of my installed programs:
    Anything i should be worried about?
     
  8. ParaniaEstablished

    ParaniaEstablished Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Oh and here is my startup list:
    Anything i should be worried about here?
     
  9. Ranget

    Ranget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    Not Really Sure :/
    secunia for update

    Comodo + Avast (has a p2p scanning shield ) + MBAM pro
     
  10. ParaniaEstablished

    ParaniaEstablished Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Comodo what? Firewall? AV? DNS? What?
    And avast makes my computer dreadfully slow.
     
  11. ParaniaEstablished

    ParaniaEstablished Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Also is there something that will block anything trying to spy on my webcam or my mic?
     
  12. Ranget

    Ranget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    Not Really Sure :/
    Comodo Fw with Defense + also is not bad to use the DNS
    if you don't want AVAST get Panda Cloud Free

    as for Antispy
    For x86 zemana or spyshelter
    For x64 Spyshelter premium
     
  13. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    Keep an image of a clean install.
    Use a 'User account' if you're not 'administrating' stuff.
    Keep all software up-to-date.
    SBIE for internet facing apps.
    EMET for hardening if you're up to it.
    What OS are you using? Use either 'Parental controls' or SRP if you have Win Pro.
    My preferred software FW+HIPS+antikeylogger is (free) Online Armor.
    Download only from trusted sources.
    Only use those programs that you (are willing to) master.
    And don't rely on a kazillion programs if you suspect an infection, instead use the image to get a 100% clean system back in 20 minutes instead of scanning for hours and hours and have 99% certainty.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2011
  14. ParaniaEstablished

    ParaniaEstablished Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    I dont have a clean install but i do have recovery DVD's. How do i create a clean image without setting up a clean install?
    I am running win7 home prem.
    I really prefer to run as a admin 24/7.
    Will online armor work well with my other AV? (Currently MSE but i am about to switch to avast)
     
  15. ParaniaEstablished

    ParaniaEstablished Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    I have x64 but i dont want to buy anything. (I am a college student so my pockets are pretty empty right now.)
     
  16. ParaniaEstablished

    ParaniaEstablished Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Use the comodo DNS?
     
  17. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    You can only create a clean image (compressed 1:1 copy of OS+updates+programs+settings) if you are certain that you have a clean install.
    If you prefer to run as admin, keep UAC jacked up. If you don't, well, that's up to you.
    OA (not an AV) will work just fine with MSE, a nice combination. Just make sure you know what a HIPS is/how it works, even if it's an easy one like in OA.
     
  18. ParaniaEstablished

    ParaniaEstablished Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Also should i keep my HD encrypted? (Pretty much the only thing i am protecting are my torrents)
     
  19. ParaniaEstablished

    ParaniaEstablished Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    I actually have it disabled. What should i set it too?
    Edit: Also how will it work with comodo and avast?
     
  20. Zyrtec

    Zyrtec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    534
    Location:
    USA
    The way I backup my Windows installation in case of the unforeseen happens is this way:

    [1] Install Windows from scratch [Clean Intall booting from CD/DVD preferable]..and the Windows drivers.

    [2] Install MS Office

    [3] If using Win XP [turn on FW if not already on, although it should be if it's Win XP SP-2 or later and it's on by default on Windows Vista/7]

    [4] Go to network connections and disable file and printer sharing and client for MS networks.

    [5] Connect to the Internet and download all the service packs, hot fixes and critical updates for Windows and Office. Activate Windows and Office while you're at it.

    [6] I install all my other programs [pdf readers, compression utilities, disk burning software, etc.], EXCEPT AVs and/or FWs or any other security application that hooks deeply on Windows.

    [7] At THAT POINT, I do a backup of this installation [Windows/Office, and other programs I had installed] either using Acronis or a backup program of my preference.



    [8] Then is when I install AV, AS and FW. If for some reason one of those last three programs screw my Windows installation, I just reload from the backup image I created earlier.


    Hope this helps.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2011
  21. ParaniaEstablished

    ParaniaEstablished Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah but getting everything set up how i like it would be a PITA. (Unless i dont encrypt... Should i encrypt?)
     
  22. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,485
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    @ParaniaEstablished
    - Switch to portable versions: Revo Uninstaller (you have v. 1.93 - it means is perhaps free and has portable version) and Piriform's: CCleaner, Defraggler, Recuva.
    - Do you relay need to have in autostart sach apps: Steam, AnyDVD (from SlySoft?), Adobe, Skype, Java Update, BCSSync.exe (http://www.addictivetips.com/window...-business-connectivity-services-client-cache/) and Dropbox? For me it would be to many...you should think about disabling its from autostart (by e.g. Autoruns from Sysinternals).
     
  23. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    I would skip Firefox when your on Vista or Windows7. Internet Explorer works nicely with MSE and offers protected mode in lowrights. With IE
    's tracking protection you can add the same filters which adblock also offers. When you are on XP and running Admin, I would add SURun

    Do you use P2P a lot, through which program?
     
  24. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Definitely change your router password. And disable remote access as well.

    It's insane how people never change that - you can get into routers so easily.
     
  25. Wroll

    Wroll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    Italy
    Some people just don't have and don't think they need that knowledge. My sister's last internet provider the tech guys came, set WEP for wireless and a very small password.

    As for securing computers: I use PrivateFirewall and that's all. I think it's enough. I really can't see how my computer could get infected.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.