How to restore to Vista?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by andreah1, Nov 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. andreah1

    andreah1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    I have True Image 11, I have a recent backup (I back up the entire c drive) which is lucky because we had a terrible snowstorm here and I lost my computer because of numerous power surges (I wasn't home to unplug). My backup consists of windows xp but the new computer I'm getting has Vista....how would I go about restoring my data into vista from my external hard drive? Will I just have to go thru and pick out folders/programs/emails that I want to restore now? I had thought previously I could restore the whole c drive but that was before vista was thrown in the mix. Will vista let me restore my files? THanks for any help, please be patient, I'm fairly good with computers but FAR from an expert!
     
  2. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    There is no simple way to migrate data off a backup of one OS into another OS. I would probably restore the XP backup onto a spare drive, as XP, and then pick off the pieces I wanted for inclusion into Vista.
     
  3. andreah1

    andreah1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    What if I don't have a spare drive? Is there anything else I can do? Would I still be able to pull any files or programs out of the backup I currently have?
     
  4. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    andreah1:

    If you install TrueImage 11 to your new computer, then you can use the "Mount" feature, which mounts your backup image as a virtual disk drive. Once the backup image is mounted, you can use Windows Explorer to view and copy any user files from the backup image to your new PC.

    You will need to reinstall any of your programs to the new PC in the usual fashion, but the Mount feature will let you recover photos, music, and other types of user files.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You could mount the image in Vista using TI and then copy out any data files you need. You probably won't be able to copy out any programs because most of them need to be installed to work properly.
     
  6. Ltuae

    Ltuae Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Melbourne.Au
    Just because you have a hammer (AcronisTI) doesn't mean that every problem is a nail.

    In fact Imaging-Backupware can often be the dumbest method to transfer all the itty-bits of personal stuff from within a Windows installation, even though they claim to do it, results are usually far less favourable and messy - fraught with breakages that you might regret and find difficult to diagnose and repair - than simply manually grabbing the odd bits and pieces here there and everywhere..., as the other respondent suggested.

    XP and Vista for example use far different layouts for User accounts and Program data stuff, and don't even mention UAC limitations of Vista.
    (edit for clarity of meaning:) You're probably familiar with XP but sounds like Vista could be new territory for you, so would you know exactly the right places to put stuff?
    For most people, Vista has been a daunting (and frustrating) OS for the first few weeks of the transition.

    NP. Windows itself offers and answer that's promising and most reliable solution for people upgrading their PCs and wanting to shift their personal data, incl. User settings, customisations, etc., as quick and least painful as possible.

    It's Microsoft's area, only they know it best so it could be wise to check if their solutions would meet your needs first.
    Have a read of this for a start:
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-vista/get/easy-transfer.aspx

    I'm of the old school that Imaging-Backware is best used for the core function that it's about, and don't swallow the hype that B/U programX's new better-than-sliced-bread features laden capabilities is some magic bullet to solving the world's problems.

    Fwiw: Am not implying there that any Images/Backups you take might not come in handy for the job, if and where apposite.
    Keep them handy just in case.

    --
    Ltuae
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2008
  7. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Another alternative with its own set of problems, would be to re-allocate your new hardrive space and have a dual boot system with Vista and XP.

    However, this will depend on the size of the new hard drive and whether you have enough space on your external drive to make a FULL image of your new system before playing around.

    Colin
     
  8. andreah1

    andreah1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    Thanks all, you've given me alot to chew on and I'm not even sure where to begin. I'm so frustrated because I did stupidly believe that an imaging system was a big bandaid and now I see that's not the case. Beginning to wonder why I spent the money on it. I guess the main thing is to wait for the new computer to arrive (supposed to be delivered on Wed.) and see what I can do. If I've really lost all my data and files I can't even begin to tell you how upset I'll be, we're talking LOTS and all because of my stupidity of thinking "I was covered". :mad: I'm really not sure what to do. I do have a loaner computer I'm using right now that has room for my old hd (providing it still works), is there a way to transfer from one computer to another?
    I guess my first step is to go read about transferring from the link provided, thanks again...
     
  9. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    You haven't lost anything, if the image was made correctly.

    As has been mentioned if you mount the image (which will mean installing TI first), you will be able to drag or copy any text documents, pictures, webpages that you need onto your Vista system.

    What you won't be able to do for the vast majority, if not all of your program is to drag those across as Vista will not have any registry entries to allow them to run. However, if you are the sort of person that keeps all the program installer files on your system, you can drag these across and re-install them on your Vista system. You will also be able to drag across any data files that are specific to a program that you have just re-installed.

    So in a nutshell, any DOC,PDF, XLS,PPS JPG,BMP, HTM(L), TXT, INI, MYOB, Quicken, eTAX files or similar can be copied onto your Vista system.

    EXE files which are your program files will not with a few exceptions work unless properly installed.

    You would also be able to drag your Outlook Express files (if that is the email client that you use) across and get them imported into vista as well as your favourites from IE. Other email clients or web browsers should also be able to be copied over.

    There won't be any point trying to bring Windows XP settings over to Vista.

    Perhaps you could give some idea of the type of files and data that you need to bring over.

    Colin
     
  10. andreah1

    andreah1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    Thanks Colin, I feel a little better, so I will be able to drag most from my external hd to the new (after installing TI of course) from what you're saying? Mainly I am looking to do so on what you've said - outlook express, excel, word, pics. I had hoped for programs as well but a majority of them are free things I got on the web which I can "refind". Alot I have saved in a free download manager, would I be able to redownload the manager than transfer the files over into it, then use that to reinstall programs? Sorry if I'm sounding confused, I am!!! I just want to be ready once the new computer comes so I can get back to some sort of normalcy asap. I guess for the time being I'd better hook up my external hd to the loaner computer, install TI on here and see if I'm able to pull stuff over...then I'll know if I'm going to be able to do it for the new one.
     
  11. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    When you mount the image, you may have to alter your explorer view to see hidden files and folders and system files, otherwise you may not be able to see your outlook express folders.

    I suggest:

    1. Mount the image in your borrowed XP environment.

    2.Find the Outlook Express program or shortcut from the images Desktop folder, click and see if that instance of OE will open, it may or may not, mine does, but then I'm opening the image on a machine that contains images of itself. If it does open, you can find where your mailbox folders are stored. You can alter this or export, so you could export them directly to your backup drive - as even with attachements, I doubt your email folders are going to be in the gigabyte area. You would also be able to export IE favourites - although it is just as easy to frag and drop these. If OE does open for you, then defintiely export your contact/address book.

    If it doesn't, don't worry, you can still get and import these files, it's just a little more fiddly.

    2. On the new Vista system, there may well be a folder called My Downloads, if there isn't make a download folder and store any programs that you download or update there. If you start to run out of disk space, then you can always copy the complete folder onto your backup drive (as well as your images) that way, you've got a bit of redundancy.

    3. Make copies of your contact/address book

    To find your address book, just type WAB into the RUN option of the Start button.

    Colin
     
  12. andreah1

    andreah1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    THanks Colin, more stuff to do, ha ha! Unfortunately, the borrowed computer I'm using only has windows 2000 and I haven't tested the hard drive from the blown computer yet which was the xp one. I'm hoping it's ok and that I'll be able to use it. Regardless I was able to install TI on this computer and the image is on my external HD, will I be able to just restore what I want from that instead of trying to yank out my internal hard drive?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.