How to restore to slave HD?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dbk723, Jul 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dbk723

    dbk723 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Hi, I have some recurring glitches with my current C: hard drive, and I would like to restore from an image that I created shortly after I finished a fresh Windows install. I have the .tib image file in a folder on my C: drive, and I would like to restore it to my freshly NTFS-formatted D: slave drive. True Image doesn't seem to offer this option - is it possible to do it?
     
  2. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    I can see that it is possible for you to restore your .tib image to your slave drive (In my original post I had it that this was not possible). I would suggest you boot using the Recovery CD and restore your .tib image on your C: drive to your slave drive, disconnect your C: drive before rebooting, then connect your Slave drive as Master. The only caveat I have is that you might end up with unallocated space on your new Master drive if the slave drive is of larger capacity than your present C: drive. See here to retrieve any unallocated space.
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2006
  3. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Hello dbk723,

    If I'm not missing something, the operation you wish to perform should be possible, even from Windows if it's still operational. What is keeping you from selecting the image stored on C: as the source and the second drive as the destination? You should tell us some more details.

    Just remember to disconnect the old drive before you reboot into Windows the first time after the restoration and of course you must then set the second drive as master.

    I see now dld's reply. He is right, but you want to restore to the second drive, don't you?
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dbk723,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Yes, it is possible to restore the image archive to another location (differ from the C drive). During the restoration you will be able to select the target disk or partition where you want to restore the selected image. You can restore data to their initial location, to another disk/partition or to an unallocated space. The target partition should be at least the same size as the uncompressed image data. However, please note that if you would like to use both this hard drives connected to the computer at the same time you should first prepare Windows using Microsoft System Preparation Tool (Sysprep). Because after restoration you will have two exactly the same copies of Windows operating systems on your computer and this may case problems on booting. And as bVolk we recommend you to unplug one of the hard drives right after the disk has been restored, since keeping both original and restored hard drives connected might cause different boot or drive letter assignment problems.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.