How to restore from mapped drive.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by muzz, Mar 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. muzz

    muzz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Product: Acronis True Image Home v11
    Setup: Notebook C: D: partitions. (one HD) (plus hidden Asus recovery partition)
    Backup: The Acronis images have been saved to a mapped drive on my desktop PC.

    I am having a constant "corrupted and unreadable $mft error". Have done series of disc checks and all seems ok. Have decided to format C partition and rebuild.

    My main issue is how to get Acronis to link up to the mapped drive once C partition is wiped? Or does it find it automatically somehow?

    I have reviewed a lot of information but there does not seem to be clear information anywhere.

    Thanks

    Muzz
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Welcome to the forum.

    You'll need to boot to the TI CD (use the Full Mode version) and make sure TI finds the network share and the image (it won't be a mapped drive).

    I would also strongly recommend you Validate the image while booted to the TI CD and make sure TI can read it successfully over the network. If it can't read the file, you won't be able to restore it.
     
  3. muzz

    muzz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand

    Thanks for your reply. I assume from this that somehow Acronis can find the network share running under its own OS. I guess I don't need to know but I was unclear how it could do this!:D

    I get onto this tonight - in about 3 hours time. I didn't want to get too far into the CD in case it wiped anything near the start.

    Cheers<
    Muzz
     
  4. muzz

    muzz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Help - Screen goes blank after CD boot

    I have booted from the CD, selected the non WIndows boot (Full Version), pressed Enter, and the monitor just goes blank. I have waited for ages and nothing happens. Eventually rebooted and cannot get back to WIndows. The computer keeps rebooting to the "We apologise for the inconvenience" menu screen. I have tried Last Known Good, and Safe mode. Both eventually reboot the computer. I have tried "Disable Automatic Reboot on Error" and that doesnt help except throw up a blue screen, advising to reboot and saying to disable anti virus and backup programs etc. Great, except I cant get back into windows.

    AAAARRRRGHHHHHHH
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2009
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Re: Help - Screen goes blank after CD boot

    Have you successfully booted the TI CD before on this computer?

    Have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?

    Just booting from the TI CD shouldn't have caused any problems for booting the hard drive after you've removed the CD.
     
  6. muzz

    muzz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Thank you. The instructions you gave and directed me to allowed me to runthe validation wizard ( I had actually read the README but it was much earlier and it hadn't registered.) It took me an hour or two to restore Windows before, using the XP Pro disk and doing DSKCHK and was finally back into Windows. I then reburnt an Acronis disk (just in case). I noted I still get the "Corrupt $mft" message.

    My intention is now to clean off C: (active drive) and recover C: from the archive. Would I be best to do a FORMAT on C: first (perhaps from DOS) or is there a way to do both a diskclean JUST on C partition then do the recovery?

    Thanks,
    Muzz
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    There isn't any need to format the existing C: partition before you do the restore. TI will delete it and recreate it as part of the restoration process.

    I assume the image validated successfully and TI saw your internal drive okay.
     
  8. muzz

    muzz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Yes it all checked out fine and I have just started the actual restore of partition C.

    I guess the only concern I have is that MFT, $mft and $mftmirr will not be rebuilt because they are part of the NTFS file system. I understand however that FORMAT does at least in part, overwrite part of MFT. ANyway, I will let you know later. I am just off to work now and will need to get back here to see how it went.

    CHeers,
    Muzz
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If the corruption wasn't in the saved image, it shouldn't be there when it's restored. If the corruption was in the saved image and it shows up in the restored partition, do the partition restore again and resize the partition a little smaller.
     
  10. muzz

    muzz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Update: The restore went quicker than I had anticipated. However, the corrupt $mft came up immediately on getting back into Windows. I have a couple of backups prior to having all this happen so I could try that.
    As well, I will try your suggestion. I presume from your comment of resizing the partition that this forces a rewrite or rebuilt of MFT?

    Tis, Friday here (Auckland, New Zealand) , so this looks like a weekend job!
    I really do appreciate your assistance on this. Normally I wouldn't be too concerned but I have many working apps on this particular pc.

    If all else fails, I will bite the bullet and purchase a new HD.
    And once this is over, I will write a summary of the issues and also send text summary to Acronis.


    FYI
    MICROSOFT SAYS :
    This behavior can occur if the NTFS volumes' Master File Table (MFT) is corrupted. The short and long file name pairs that are stored in the directory index record and the file names that are stored in the associated File Record Segment (FRS) contain case-sensitive characters that do not match.

    NTFS supports case-sensitive (POSIX) file names, but Chkdsk does not check file names in case-sensitive mode.

    For example, assume that the directory index record has a BADFILe.TXT entry but the FRS has a BADFILE.TXT entry for the file name. NTFS views this as being invalid or corrupted, but Chkdsk compares only the names and ignores the case. It does not make repairs.

    To resolve this issue, back up the volume that contains the corrupted file(s) and exclude the corrupted file(s) from the backup job. Reformat the volume, and then restore from the backup.


    But how to do a backup to exclude all MFT entries? lol
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2009
  11. muzz

    muzz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand

    Mudcrab - I did as suggested and made the C: partition a little smaller hoping that the MFT would be rebuilt. However $mft corrupt error still comes up. I am now going to try an old backup.
     
  12. muzz

    muzz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Re: How to restore {Corrupt $MFT Solved - kind of)

    I did a recovery last night from a week old image afte having saved elsewhere the latest .pst etc. The "Corrupt and Unreadable $MFT" message has gone! And hopefully for good. I can only guess that this was caused by a Microsoft Update but it could also be other updates etc. I will try to find out.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.