How to prevent True Image from assigning new drive letters on recovery

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by acook, Jan 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acook

    acook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I have a validated backup on a usb drive of a dell studio laptop.
    I want to restore all the partitions from the backup to a formatted hard drive C:
    True image is reassigning the drive letters when doing the recvovery.
    Example: D to C.
    I want the backup image to retain the same drive letters of all partitions.
    How is this done?
    Also when I try to do the restore the computer hangs half way through and never completes.
    Any thoughts?
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Is this behaviour when using the rescue CD?

    The rescue environment is Linux which allocates drives differently to MS operating systems. However, once the image is restored, when you reboot into Windows, your drives should appear correct. This is assuming the MBR (which it probably is) has been incorporated into the image. The drive allocations are held in registry in Windows and so long as you don't have two drives in the PC with a bootable Windows system on them, you should be fine.

    I recommend giving all your partitions meaningful names, as that helps to sort the confusion out when looking at the Linux environemnt.

    Colin
     
  3. acook

    acook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Yes the behavior is when using the rescue cd.
    I'm still having problems with the computer hanging when doing the recovery.
    The recovery starts out okay, says 30 minutes to complete and then the time increases and increases sometimes going to as much as 20 hours remaining and the computer hangs, no hard drive activity.
    This is a new laptop.
    I tried to do a recovery and it failed due to the hanging so I lost all my partitions in the failed recovery.
    Just want to be able to put my validated backup back!
     
  4. acook

    acook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    All is well!
    I did the quiet acpi=off noapic

    and it worked.
    TI says it's assigning different drive letters but as Colin says windows reads them correctly.

    Side note:
    I don't know if this means anything but I did not touch the mouse or key pad after the recovery started. The computer did not hang. Maybe because of the quiet acpi=off noapic command, I don't know, but I'm a happy girl.
     
  5. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    The quiet acpi.... command is known to fix a lot of problems using the bootable media. Note that even if you start a recovery of C in Windows after it collects the data it will reboot your PC into Linux mode. This may not work in your case since you need to enter the acpi command.

    You can create a new rescue CD with TI2009 and perhaps 11 incorporating the acpi command so you don't have to enter it manually.
     
  6. JustPlainFred

    JustPlainFred Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Posts:
    59
    Bodgy,
    Hello, I have a question (dont know how to do the "quote" thing) How exactly do you assign meaningful names to your drives? and will this "mess up" my existing backups if i do so? Regards PlainFred
     
  7. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.

    If you have My Computer on the desktop - open it up, highlight the drive/partition you wish to name, right click on the highlighted drive and enter a name in the top box and then click OK.

    If you don't have the My Computer icon on your desktop, then open up your file manager (probably Windows Explorer) and right click on the drive name in the left hand panel - same as above.



    Umm, no, but that needs to be qualified. The image that you already have will of course have the name C:\ so in the restore menu it will be referred to as C:\ and you will need to give your restored drive a label. However, if once you've labelled your drives, (including your external drive) you make a new image, then everything is set as you want it if and when you need to perform a restore.

    To quote either - click on QUOTE in the reply options or you can place the word QUOTE between [] and place at the beginning of the test and a /QUOTE and two brackets at the end of the text you wish to quote or even get super technical and click on the quote icon in the reply text box, which is the thing that looks like a rectangular speech bubble and is to the right of the icon that looks like an envelope with a mountain and a stamp on it.

    Colin
     
  8. JustPlainFred

    JustPlainFred Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Posts:
    59
    Bodgy,
    Thank you for your reply. I have Vista Home Premium so in my right click context menu (selecting the drive ) i can click on "Rename" I'll give it a try! Regards, PlainFred
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.