How to install nvidia on Centos and SL

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by mack_guy911, Feb 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    i am putting baby steps form my self as well for others for future reference

    1 step one

    please make sure kernel header and devel to be same by using this command

    Code:
    uname -r
    rpm -q kernel-devel 
    
    if they dont match update kernel devel

    Code:
    yum -y upgrade kernel kernel-devel

    step 2

    Blacklist Nouveau in grub.conf and also set vga=0x303 (setting vga to low mode stop calling Noueau drivers)

    su

    get into root

    Code:
    # cd /
    
    /# gedit /boot/grub/grub.conf 
    
    and paste the following line there

    Code:
    vga=0x303 rdblacklist=nouveau nouveau.modeset=0
    
    setting vga=0x303 prevent calling nouveau as priority

    now reboot you feel diffrent screen

    type this command and check

    /sbin/lsmod | grep nouveau

    there should be no output which is best :thumb:

    if you getting output means nouveau not disable 100%

    like this

    what i am getting here check 2 things 1st nouveau 0 at 1st line and setting vga=0x303 which not call nouveau 1st but nvidia and prevent conflicting



    now after that 2 ways form kmod or form source

    1st from kmod just type this command

    Code:
    #yum --enablerepo=elrepo install kmod-nvidia 
    
    it install you latest nvidia driver without problem




    2nd way from source

    download nvidia.run appropriate your card and 32/64 bit file from nvida site

    here please note if you have old card not that old legacy ones example my card is 8600GT the new driver 295.20 is very slow and poor on perfomance ......etc

    so best option for me i choose LTS driver which is 275.x.x they work some where between

    now after downloaded to get into runlevel 3 mode

    Code:
    # telint 3 

    you get CLI mode (cli multiuser mode) so better write theses commands

    now login as root
    password

    Code:
    # cd /
    
    # cd /home/mack/Downloads/
    
    now here you get into your download folder i am asuming you having your nvidia.run in download if anyother choose path to that

    make nvidia.run executing chmod +x NVIDIA....................by pressing tab button you get all

    Code:
    [root@Downloads]#  chmod +x NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-275.43.run 
    
    [root@Downloads]# ./NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-275.43.run 
    
    accept license .....etc at end you get

    getback to root here type reboot to reboot your system and you get your nvidia running

    # reboot

    after restart you get your nvidia display



    here cool dudes i must give credit to without them its not possible

    very special thanks to mrk

    http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/centos-nvidia.html

    special thanks to all

    wilderssecurty members

    specially

    ocky Trespasser's Beavenburt ............ .for helping me a lot

    special thanks to all

    SL forums members

    specially

    redman joutlan SeeM ...................... for helping me a lot


    Thanks guys :D
     
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
  2. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    You need to thank yourself. :D This vga mode stuff seems to be tricky especially it appears for widescreens. I have a 1440x900 screen and am using vga=31b (1280x1024) with Plymouth details theme. It looks nice. vga=ask, if I remember correctly only gave me two suitable modes.
    You have chosen a very low res. - what did you have before vga=0x303 ?

    Anyway glad it's working and thanks for the tutorial.

    vga modes.png

    Code:
    Colours   640x400 640x480 800x600 1024x768 1152x864 1280x1024 1600x1200
    --------+--------------------------------------------------------------
     4 bits |    ?       ?     0x302      ?        ?        ?         ?
     8 bits |  0x300   0x301   0x303    0x305    0x161    0x307     0x31C
    15 bits |    ?     0x310   0x313    0x316    0x162    0x319     0x31D
    16 bits |    ?     0x311   0x314    0x317    0x163    0x31A     0x31E
    24 bits |    ?     0x312   0x315    0x318      ?      0x31B     0x31F
    32 bits |    ?       ?       ?        ?      0x164      ?
     
  3. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    One thing. If you installed the driver from command line in runlevel 3, you do not need to reboot, because X is not running and the driver is not in use, so it will be dynamically inserted into the kernel and won't conflict with previous versions/leftovers. Just go into runlevel 5. Bob's your uncle.
    Mrk
     
  4. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    sorry ocky i didnt notice but its definitely greater than 0*303 light 256 colors is ok with me :D

    in fedora never had problem :)

    also did you notice you get old tri band after nvidia install

    here to get back rings

    # plymouth-set-default-theme rings

    # /usr/libexec/plymouth/plymouth-update-initrd

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1811083&postcount=52


    thanks for tip mrk i keep in mind that for next time :)

    Sorry to ask one more silly question whats way to uninstall/remove when installed from source in case me or some else needed in future ;)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
  5. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Just move the nvidia module away from /lib/modules/kernel version ...
    Mrk
     
  6. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
  7. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    aha ok i check thanks mrk ocky

    one more thing i like add ring dont work less than 65,536 colors to make rings work i had to set vga=788 (0x314) best is stick what work i learn from here :D
     
  8. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Amen, Ocky. He's making all the rest of us look bad with his persistence.

    ;).

    Way to go, Mack_Guy.

    Later...
     
  9. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    Even though I have compiled kernels in past, worked without X, this is a gargantuan effort and I am too old for it, good work mack_guy.
     
  10. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Thank you very much for your instructions, Mack.

    I just want to throw in my two cents, I have excellent results from the following procedure in order to wipe out nouveau for good:

    Create /etc/modprobe/blacklist-nouveau.conf:
    Code:
    blacklist nouveau
    regenerate initramfs:
    Code:
    mv /boot/initramfs-2.6.32-220.4.2.el6.x86_64.img /boot/initramfs-2.6.32-220.4.2.el6.x86_64.old && \
    dracut /boot/initramfs-2.6.32-220.4.2.el6.x86_64.img $(uname -r)
    (this line is based on the current kernel version)
    NO NEED to edit grub files, as a matter of fact, with correct vga=0x*** you retain the nice splashscreen..

    EDIT: Avoid starting X Windows, until you have NVidia drivers installed, otherwise nouveau drivers will still be loaded.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2012
  11. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    Trespasser@ you make me speechless :D

    like this

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=319352

    :D


    wilbertnl glad it work there for you somehow regenerate initramfs didnt work for me here i did same at 1st then i try to play safe but editing grub.conf only like mrk said :D
     
  12. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Mack, I forgot to mention that you need to avoid the graphic desktop until nvidia drivers are installed, by booting in single user mode.
    If you need network for downloads, you go to runlevel 3, which is still without graphic desktop.

    When X Windows starts, even with a new initramfs, it loads the nouveau drivers, indeed, like your experience.
     
  13. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    thanks man :thumb:

    by the way which distros are you using apart from centos
     
  14. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    I finally got my headless Perfect Music Server setup with Logitech Media Server and it's Squeezeplay client (after first collecting patches from different web pages and compiling, because the available binary is broken) based on 64-bit CentOS 6.2. The problem that I solved is that NPR streaming is using an uncommon sample rate that is not well supported by Logitech. I got that fixed now. The ALSA documentation is far from easy accessible!

    Anyway,

    I also play with Debian, Fedora 16 and OpenSuSE 12.1, I like the KDE with desktop effects enabled, but I notice that my laptop fan is running non-stop with KDE (fan is quiet with Gnome 3). Recently I got interested in Arch Linux, but from my experience I have gathered that I would spend most of my time on maintaining the OS as opposed to enjoy and using it.

    I noticed that CentOS updated Firefox to 10.1, which makes this distro suddenly modern, no need to fiddle with anything else anymore.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012
  15. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    going to try again open suse 12.1 yes long time i didnt use kde

    one more thing i like to add

    http://scientificlinuxforum.org/index.php?showtopic=1109

    Today i scarly update my kernel after that

    and it did it without problem

    also no need blacklist kernel it done during kernel install

    best part of this way you can keep your fav nvidia version as long as you want without updating

    many thanks to Trespasser :thumb:
     
  16. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    mack guy please consider using Tumbleweed for Open Suse and give us your opinion on it if possible.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.