How to Install Comodo Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Chiron, May 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chiron

    Chiron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    Hello, for those of you who are using Comodo Firewall, or Comodo Internet Security, I've created a guide to show you how to configure it for maximum security with maximum usability.
    How to Install Comodo Firewall

    Please let me know of any questions or comments you have.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Circe

    Circe Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Cheshire, England
    An excellent article & advice, I have used this set up on numerous PC's without any problems at all, Thank you Chiron :thumb:
     
  3. Chiron

    Chiron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    Thank you very much.

    Please let me know if you have any questions.
     
  4. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Definitely an excellent guide for people who use and need help configuring Comodo Firewall/IS.
     
  5. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    I agree...Chiron's guide was most useful for setting up Comodo's firewall. :thumb:

    I've only made a few additional changes to tailor (tighten) the protection.

    Definitely recommended.
     
  6. Chiron

    Chiron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    Thanks.
     
  7. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    617
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    Yes most excellent guide Chiron.

    @blues7
    I thought you were a 'PF' guy :)

    What 'tweaks' did you make to Comodo FW ?
     
  8. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    I am...but I'm only monogamous in my marriage. :p

    (I still have PF running on my wife's machine...and I may return myself at some juncture.)

    The main changes I've made are:

    1. Added some programs to be run in the Sandbox as "limited".
    (These are not apps which I have under supervision by Sandboxie.)

    2. Changed the "firewall" to "custom" and ticked "create rules for safe applications" so that I would be alerted to outbound connections rather than having the firewall automatically allow "trusted" apps to connect to the internet. The very few popups I've received are clear and easy to deal with.

    3. Per advice of kjdemuth here on Wilders, I've unticked the options to both automatically trust and run installers outside the sandbox...and to automatically trust the files of trusted installers.

    This just tightens up the security a little above the settings that Chiron shared with us and (thus far) has allowed my system to run very smoothly and quietly in the current configuration (as shown in my signature).

    (Just don't run "Process Explorer". For some reason it discombobulated my system last night and led to my having to restore an image. I had read something on the Comodo site about its vying with the firewall for access to those processes. It wasn't for the faint of heart. :rolleyes: )
     
  9. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    617
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    Thanks all the good info blues7 :thumb:
    I am still using OA free but may give CFW another try soon.
     
  10. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    You're welcome. :cool:

    (OA is/was a longtime favorite but it just doesn't play nicely on my machine anymore. Comodo and PF both run quietly with low resource usage. So it goes.)
     
  11. No_script

    No_script Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    97
    There is more you can do with Comodo.

    Under Firewall Network Policies Slect and tick these

    Block Temp Files
    Block Exe's
    Ask When a System process connects to the internet Outbound


    There is more but I'll add it later when I get home.
     
  12. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    No script, can you provide more info as to exactly which tabs these rules go under as well as the methodology of adding them?
     
  13. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    617
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    CIS 5.10 now back on system using Chiron's guide,
    But I always remove the Trusted Vendor List.
     
  14. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    I've thought of doing that but haven't thus far.

    That said, I could swear I read somewhere that the program just replaces it during updates when removed. Is this the case?
     
  15. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    617
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    Just rename the vendor.n file to anything else > create a dummy/blank vendor.n in notepad and copy into database folder.
    I have never seen it repopulate before, but you can always monitor this.
     
  16. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    Thanks for the tip. I may just incorporate this one of these days.
     
  17. Chiron

    Chiron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    If I'm not wrong, these are configuration changes you manually made to specific applications. Is that correct?

    Also, did you check the global option to "Create rules for safe applications" so you could go in and change their settings.

    That said, I don't see how you are blocking temp files or blocking exe's with the firewall. Do you mean the Defense+ / Sandbox component?

    What you are talking about for that could be accomplished by setting the sandbox to "Blocked" but I don't advise that (although I do mention it) for most users because they will never even be given the option to trust an application. It will just not work if it's not in the whitelist or the digital signature is not in the TVL.

    Can you please clarify your configuration so I can better understand it?

    Thanks.
     
  18. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks chiron for the tutorial.One other thing I just found that comodo does not pass CTL (comodo Leak Test) with sandbox but gets a perfect score with Sandbox off.

    If I leave Sandbox off does it effect the settings in the tutorial.
     
  19. Chiron

    Chiron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    The leak test is problematic. It was actually designed before the sandbox was introduced and therefore doesn't test it properly.

    I wouldn't worry about it.
     
  20. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Ok thanks.
     
  21. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    djohn, just for clarity's sake I believe that Chiron is recommending that the sandbox remain enabled despite the test score.

    I'm sure he'll correct me if I've misspoken.
     
  22. Chiron

    Chiron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    Yes, I do recommend that the sandbox remain enabled.
     
  23. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I turned sandbox back on.thanks guys much appreciated.:thumb:
     
  24. No_script

    No_script Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    97
    Sorry I've been busy I'll try and get a tutorial up later with pictures. Thanks for the trusted vendor trick, never thought of that.
     
  25. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Has the problem between the comodo firewall and the avast web shield been resolved yet?
    any update on this please?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.