how to force skype to use tor network?

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by tehit, Jun 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tehit

    tehit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Posts:
    14
    how about starting vidalia and tor and specifying 127.0.0.1 and 8118 in skype/options/connection (with https?/or socks5)?
     
  2. chronomatic

    chronomatic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,343
    I wouldn't trust it. Skype is closed-source and does all kinds of things behind the scenes with its routing. Maybe check the Tor project's home page and see if they have any guides on it. I am doubting it.
     
  3. PaulyDefran

    PaulyDefran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,163
    Search for "Microsoft Legal Intercept" and "Skype Super Node Change". I wouldn't use it. Switch to Jitsi and OSTel.

    https://ostel.me/

    The Guardian Project has a ton of info, check CSIP Simple

    PD
     
  4. happyyarou666

    happyyarou666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Posts:
    802
    but video chat over msn messenger plus is secure right?

    p.s: that ostel thing looks interesting
     
  5. Nebulus

    Nebulus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,582
    Location:
    European Union
    Last time I used Skype (a year or so ago), it was relying heavily on UDP, which can't be relayed through TOR, so I'm not sure you will be able to get full functionality in Skype over TOR.
    Besides, if you didn't create the Skype account using TOR, or even if you did and used it at least once outside TOR, you can be identified.
     
  6. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    Nearly all VoIP clients use UDP as it's far more suitable. TCP, if used, is usually a "fallback" mode.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.