How to edit context menu?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by aigle, Jan 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    How can i edit this menue?

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. sach1000rt

    sach1000rt Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    india
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Yes, exactly what I wanted.

    Thanks
     
  4. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Hmmm OpenWithView seems buggy as it can,t edit all enteries. Failed on some.

    I have found this another free utility, works like a charm and has more features.

    OpenExpert

    Scroll down to the bottom of the page.
     
  5. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    OpenExpert is an awesome app, but can be cumbersome. I have it in my install as a context menu item, and normally I use it for my hex editor and things like that. Downfall of windows one, is that if you open say a .dll with a hex editor, you must also do the same for say an .exe. OpenExpert lets you state one time, that for any file, to add hex editor to the context menu.

    To get rid of the windows one is a different matter. There area number of places to do this, the first place to start would be
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\
    FileExts\.ext\OpenWithList
    where you look for your particular file extention. This is okay if you just want to remove a couple that are really annoying you. But if you have many, it could take a little bit.

    You can also go to
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT/Applications
    and add in a string value called "NoOpenWith". It needs no value. It prevents the specific application from appearing in the OpenWith list, but does not clean up what is already there. More like a way to shorten the default open with list.

    I have used the first one many times. There is also this program
    http://windowsxp.mvps.org/utils/OpenWithAdd_1.2.zip
    for registering applications to use to 'open with'.

    You could also try this, although it does a little more than I like
    http://hace-software.com/mmm.shtml

    I use one a lot called wcmm.hta. I cannot remember where I found it, but it is a pretty nice standalone utility. It can change menu items for any extention as well as generic ones.

    Sul.
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Hmmm.. why cumbersome?

    Thanks
     
  7. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Just because you have to go to the program you want to use instead of seeing a pre-populated list. I always find having to browser for something more cumbersome than picking from a list :)

    Once it is populated, it is just as convenient though.

    Sul.

    EDIT: It does give a list, just not as good as the windows one, because the windows one can tell if you have opened it with something before, and starts to give you that option. The very thing you want to get rid of I guess is one of the featrues I use quite often, especially when I want to open a certain file type with different tools.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.