How to create a bootable acronis DVD with Acronis image in it?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by techguy911, Jul 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. techguy911

    techguy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I have Acronis True Image 9.1 Enterprise Server with no other add-ons like universal restore. I a have barebone Acronis image of my server in my workstation which has a DVD burner/software.

    How can I create an Acronis bootable DVD with my server's barebone.tib image in it? This way all I have to do is rebuild the server after a complete hard drive crash, slide the Acronis bootable DVD w/ barebone image and select the image on the DVD for restore. Within less than five minutes, I now have a barebone server with Windows 200x OS. The barebone images are only about 2.5 GB to 3 GB and will fit in one DVD.

    I can do the above in Ghost by just running the ghost.exe under DOS. We don't get servers with DVD burner attached and so we can't use the backup to DVD drive feature and include the Acronis boot files.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2008
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    I'm not sure if the option to do that is in ver 9.1 ES, but in ver 10 Home you can. Anyway look under Tools>Options>Media Components and see if you find it in there somewhere.
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I haven't tried it, but I think others have been able to add the image file to an Acronis DVD by using a ISO editing program.
     
  4. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    It's in the Products Links, FAQ's & Useful Threads sticky:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=48186 This is a very long thread.

    You may find it more benificial to use a VistaPE DVD considering all the added diagnostic tool available. I easily did it by adding one line to the script in the [FileCopy] section:

    FileCopy,"Full path of the tib image","%TargetDir%\%DestDir%"

    and unchecking the run from ram option in the script configuration.

    You will then find the tib file along with the opther True Image files on the DVD.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.