How to Clone Windows98

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by danaka, May 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. danaka

    danaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Hi,
    I have a custom (access) database program in OLD pc using windows98, and data still being use for daily updated.
    I plan to clone old pc, so that the new hdd can replace old one if failure.

    can ati 2009 support to clone old windows 98?

    what backup method should I perform.

    Appreciate your help
    regards
     
  2. fungus

    fungus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Posts:
    69
    If you don't want to (or cannot) install TI-2009 on the old computer, then why not temporarily install the data containing drive in a computer that does have TI 2009 installed?

    Now either create an image and store it on some other drive, or create a clone drive of the data drive. If your data doesn't change, I'd create a clone drive and keep it in my closet (after making sure it operates in the W98 computer.)

    Fungus
     
  3. danaka

    danaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Thanks for your respond.
    m not sure the file folder that contains the program and data, as it run auto everytime windows start. maybe I should try and look up for the file name

    if i do cloning on old pc, how can i keep current my database on the new HDD. does it mean I have to do cloning daily at the end of the day?
    regards
     
  4. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Why are you doing a clone? That requires a new hard drive for every backup if you want to save a couple of backups for security. It's not a good backup plan.

    You can install TI 2009 (or an older version) on any computer running Windows XP or Vista and create the Rescue CD.

    The Rescue CD will boot your old computer and allow you to make backup images of the entire hard drive to an external USB hard drive or a second internal hard drive. You can make a backup as often as you like and keep as many as you want.

    You can test the restore by temporarily replacing the hard drive in the Win98 system with another drive and doing the restore. Check that it boots properly and that everything runs. Then you know that your backups are valid.
     
  5. danaka

    danaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Hi jmk94903,
    thanks for respond.
    m not very sure how to do that step by step. but will try to do backup image
    I got ATI 2009 cd, do I need to install the latest new update from ATI website? or the cd program would do just fine.

    regards
     
  6. StanH

    StanH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    North Saint Paul, Minnesota
    That does not work for me unless I did something wrong. I have a Windows 98 computer. I made a Rescue CD on my XP-Pro PC with ATI Workstation 9.1 and tried to boot the Win98 machine with it. As soon at it gets almost loaded, showing an Acronis logo, it reboots automatically. It just keeps repeating the reboot screen.

    Stan
     
  7. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Do you have any other bootable CD that boots correctly?
     
  8. StanH

    StanH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    North Saint Paul, Minnesota
    I will burn another CD. It is too late now but I will do it tomorrow.

    Stan
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello danaka,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    First of all, please make sure that you are using the latest build of Acronis True Image. If the build number differs from the latest one, please download and install the latest build. You can learn more on how to download the latest build here

    Re-create Acronis Booting Rescue Media and check its functionality. If this doesn't help, please let me know the license number via PM, I will provide you with an ISO file to create another Acronis Booting rescue media.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  10. danaka

    danaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    hi,
    I just got usb WD500gb. which has a backup software WDSync. if I plug it in to usb port, the WDSync will auto backup all data daily. I have not try it.
    fyi, the hdd in my Old pc is about 10gb x 2.

    can I also use the same WD500gb to do full image backup using acronis?

    should I install Acronis to both main drive and usb drive?

    in the meantime where can I find a thread link for step by step image backup.

    thanks
     
  11. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    This will be a data backup, but I don't believe it will be a full backup that will allow you to restore the Win98 drive or the program to a new drive. Check the WD docs closely to see.

    Sure, just make a new folder for the True Image backups.

    You won't be able to install Acronis True Image later than Version 8 on a Windows 98 system. It doesn't install on a USB drive, just the system drive.

    Unless you can get version 8 which is very old, you will have to install True Image on a Windows XP or Vista system and create the Rescue CD. Use the Rescue CD to boot the Windows 98 system and make the backup to the USB drive.

    The TI manual has all you need, but if you just start the program, the backup wizard will lead you through all the steps.
     
  12. danaka

    danaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Hi, jmk94903

    Thank you for reply.
     
  13. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    You are wlecome.

    Let us know how things work out.
     
  14. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    danaka, we don't know the exact version of your Acronis software.

    The step-by-step guides for Acronis True Image 11 Home are available here

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  15. danaka

    danaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Hi,
    I can't find the version. it's Acronis True Image Home 2009.
    I Just installed to my notebook, and have not yet do anything, try to read the guide's reference and confuse, this is for technical people, make me headache and worry don't know where to start. it's too long
    will take more time to read to understand, but most of the time don't understand though.

    btw, if i want the usb hdd plug in for 365 days, what type is good. I don't think WD 500gb can take the heat for 24 hours connection. or maybe.

    Any info would help. thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.