How to check what process is using RAM?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Eagle Creek, Dec 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eagle Creek

    Eagle Creek Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi,

    I'm not a novice when it comes to checking system performance, finding running processes, etc. However, things like this frustrate me:

    http://www.imgdumper.nl/uploads6/50d8af0b2af20/50d8af0b1e01c-ramfull.jpg

    As you can see, 16 (!) GB of RAM are being used. Not only that, my SSD is being used 100% ALSO because of a huge load on my page file!
    http://www.imgdumper.nl/uploads6/50d8af6c5e018/50d8af6c53c0c-disk.png

    However, when trying to find out where ALL this memory is going, Windows comes up short:
    http://www.imgdumper.nl/uploads6/50d8af897bae6/50d8af896cca0-proces1.jpg
    http://www.imgdumper.nl/uploads6/50d8afa81b9f3/50d8afa7f07f5-proces2.jpg

    It happened during a game of Battlefield. I noticed lag which became worse. At first I thought my SSD was going mad, then I found out it was, but only because I completely ran out of RAM.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2012
  2. Wallaby

    Wallaby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    156
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2012
  3. Eagle Creek

    Eagle Creek Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Doesn't help. Process hacker can't identify it either. When you add up all the values, you don't end up with the same value of memory being used.

    Screenshots below are from a friends pc. He's experiencing the same issue, also Windows 8.
    Taakbeheer Laptop.PNG

    Proceshacker screen.PNG


    I've noticed it before. Memory is "gone" and there's no real clue on where it's going. The value on private working set doesn't tell you anything. The numbers simply don't add up.

    I've checked the users tabs, which say about 25% memory is being used by a user, meaning that (in the screenshots attached in this post) more than 60% is being used by "something else".
     
  4. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,508
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Try temporarily disable a pagefile and a hibernation, restart and see if it helps.
     
  5. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
  6. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,906
    I thought Windows disabled those when running a SSD, or is it just what one should do?
     
  7. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,045
    Location:
    USA
    No and no. Windows only disables defrag, as it should be. You can disable the hibernation file if you will never use it, but there is no reason to disable anything else.

    For the OP, have you tried Sysinternals Process Explorer?
     
  8. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,508
    Location:
    Slovakia
  9. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.