How to add Windows 7 beta to OS Selector?

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by XIII, Jan 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. laserfan

    laserfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Posts:
    117
    I have DD10 but have never installed OSS. Now the Win7 RC has me interested to install-and-test it while leaving my XP Pro installation intact. Reading thru this thread, there doesn't appear to be any simple step-by-step of how to accomplish this?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    If you want instructions for the general process, see this thread (post #14 has most of the details, but it wouldn't hurt to read up to that point, at least). Adding Windows 7 is basically the same as adding Vista. The only difference is the title you use for the OSS menu (use name_template="Windows 7", for example).
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    Try this file and see if it works.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. laserfan

    laserfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Posts:
    117
    Thanks very much, I will do my homework! :)
     
  5. SDave

    SDave Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Perfect - you're wonderful. Thanks a lot - I can now boot into Windows 7, Vista and XP.
    Sdave:
     
  6. n808

    n808 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    No matter what I try, Windows 7 (RC) keeps telling me : "Setup was unable to create a new system partition or locate an existing system partition".

    I have Win XP, OSS and Toshiba's HDD recovery partition.

    I can use Win7 setup to create a new partition in the blank space, but when trying to proceed, it repeats the same error.

    This does not work:
    Code:
    WinXP     Pri, Hid  73GB  NTFS
    Unallocated
    OSS       Pri, Hid 102MB  FAT32
    HDDREC    Pri, Hid 4.0GB  FAT32
    Neither does this:
    Code:
    WinXP     Pri, Hid  73GB  NTFS
    NTFS (C:) Pri, Act  72GB  NTFS
    OSS       Pri, Hid 102MB  FAT32
    HDDREC    Pri, Hid 4.0GB  FAT32
    Any other advice than to wipe the drive and start with Win7?
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    Can you post a screenshot from XP of what Disk Management and DD (in Manual Mode) show for your drive?

    ---

    Things you can try in any order you wish:

    • Disconnect any other drives during the installation. This includes internal, external, flashdrives, MP3, iPODs, media card readers (including printers), etc.
    • Create and format the partition using XP. Then use OSS or DD to hide the other partitions and set the new one Active.
    • Create the partition using the Windows 7 installer and then abort the install. Start the install again and see if it works.
    • Deactivate OSS (select XP as the default OS). Use DD to hide all the partitions except for the Windows 7 partition (if already created). See if the Windows 7 installer will accept the existing partition or create a new one and use it.
     
  8. n808

    n808 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Finally! I found the magic ingredient. I booted to Windows XP, formatted the empty space with NTFS from Windows XP, rebooted to DD, set the new empty partition to Active, then Hid Windows XP, and finally, Windows 7 accepted the partition as "good enough" to install on...

    (Win7's own format isn't good enough for itself - but XP format is fine)

    Thanks! (I didn't read your advice before I got it working, but I found some other thread where it had worked. Apparently this is a very common problem, with a variety of solutions. XP formatting is one, disconnecting other drives another - this is a netbook with no other drives)
     
  9. n808

    n808 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Finally, I had to add Windows 7 manually to OSS, using the instructions Mudcrab refers to above (post #14 in another thread), with one change : I edited the BOOTWIZ.OSS file on the OSS partition from DD within Windows XP. Fortunately, copy-and-paste worked fine there, or I would have been helpless - typing in all partitions manually would have introduced errors.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.