How to add custom CLSID's to block with SpywareBlaster

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by RobertL, Sep 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RobertL

RobertL Guest

Hi, Pieter. I’m not exactly a newbie, but I am new to spyware prevention. I discovered the world of spyware and adware when my machine became so clogged with pop-ups that it would barely operate on-line. A bit of investigation on the Net led me first to a free scan called PestScan and then to the freeware spyware destroyer SpyBot Search and Destroy. PestScan doesn’t offer free destruction of spyware, but the scan it performs is more thorough than SpyBot’s, and it does offer free instructions on how to destroy pests manually.

I loaded SpyBot and used it to destroy pests. I’ve then checked its work by immediately loading IE and using PestScan. PestScan keeps turning up the same two particularly persistent spyware programs, called BookedSpace and Twain-Tech. Sometimes there’s a third one called Adware.Binet, which uses the same CLSIP as BookedSpace. BookedSpace appears a couple of times on SpywareBlaster’s database, but not with the same CLSIPs.

Following PestScan’s instructions, I’ve deleted the relevant keys from my machine’s registry every time I’ve seen them (and followed further instructions about deletion of DLL files). But they reload whenever I go on line. Thus it appears that these programs are somehow resident in my IE. Investigating a little further under the subject of “immunization” or “prevention” led me to SpywareBlaster.

I’ve followed your procedure for adding custom CLSIPs to SpywareBlaster’s standard list. But it hasn’t worked; BookedSpace and Twain-Tech keep reappearing in PestScan’s sweep of my registry (and indeed their wretched pop-ups persist as well). What am I doing wrong?

I have several questions:

1. Should I reboot after adding the custom CLSIPs?